Sunday, Aug. 10, 2003 | 11:05 p.m. Alaska Time

My brother

This is M with the cake I made for her party to celebrate her 3rd birthday.

# # #

About a week ago, I was peeling potatoes into the sink and pushed all the peels into the garbage disposal. When I turned the GD on, the peels clogged up the sink. I didn't do anything about it until yesterday.

I called my plumber-brother (who lives in another town) yesterday morning for advice on unclogging it. His sister-in-law answered the phone and told me he was at the hospital getting xrays because he had been in a car accident.

So I called my mom to see what/if she knew. She hadn't heard about it until I told her. She's a worst-case-scenario thinking type of person and of course started worrying like crazy about him. She told me to call my dad to find out what he knew.

(Dad lives in the same town as my brother. Mom and I live in a different city than them.)

So I called Dad and he hadn't heard either. He said he'd find out the details and call me back. He did and I called Mom.

What happened was that my brother and his wife had gone out drinking, went to a friend's house, got into an argument, she left, he went looking for her, in a company car, at 8:30 in the morning, fell asleep at the wheel, and ran into a pole. The hospital didn't do xrays as I was originally told, but did put a couple stitches in his head. He wasn't wearing a seatbelt (no one in that town does) and hit his head on the windshield.

I called him up to talk more about it and to get the plumbing advice I originally needed. I told him to call Mom because she was worried he'd get fired and divorced. He's concerned he might get fired too.

# # #

The other day, C got doused by the neighbor boy with their hose. Her shoes were wet and stinky so I threw them, and M's too, into the wash. They came out of the dryer still stinky. And since the shoelaces were wearing out anyway, hubby wanted to get them new shoes.

So we stopped at Payless Shoe Source today to get shoes. Hubby wanted to get the velcro-close style. The styles they had w/velcro were a bit more expensive. C's pair was priced at $10.99 and M's at $14.99. Hubby was having a fit at the prices, thinking they were too expensive.

Excuse me, but this is the man who doesn't think twice about buying himself a $100+ pair of shoes (Clarks) but balks at spending $25.98 for two pairs of shoes for his daughters? What's wrong with this picture?

So we get to the register, where both pairs ring up for $10.99. Apparently they were having a sale.

# # #

My step-father's dog is dying. He's a beautiful norwegian elkhound named Pepe (pronounced peppy or peh-PAY), but he's also old, about 13. He's got tumors which are probably the reason for his imminent death. My step-father had made an appointment to have them removed a couple weeks ago, but then had to fly to Hawaii because his father's wife was dying of cancer and he and my mom had to stay for the funeral. They returned yesterday morning and my step-father had plans to call the vet tomorrow to reschedule the surgery but Pepe's condition worsened overnight. He can't walk or even sit up. He can only lay down. Poor dog. My step-father will probably take him to the vet tomorrow, either to be helped, or put to sleep.

# # #

I bought a digital camera from a seller on eBay. It's an Olympus D-560 Zoom. 3.2 megapixels. Got it for $177.50, roughly $100 less than new, and it's like new. I just need to buy a USB cable and software for it. I'll probably buy other accessories too, like an AC cable, carrying case, and rechargable batteries.

# # #

I don't remember if I mentioned before, but our landlady is raising the rent Sept. 1st to $950/month. We currently pay $850. We were told she was raising it due to higher property taxes. Yeah, right, whatever. We don't feel this place is good enough to justify paying $950 a month.

For one, it's old, built in 1960-something. The floor creaks, the kitchen cabinets are the originals, it has a lot of drafts. For another, the yard isn't fenced. It's on a busy street. We've been the target of crime here at least four times in the 14 months we've lived here (new trash can stolen, tail-light smashed, attempted break-in, and bicycle stolen). Plus there's very little storage space. So it's time to move on.

We looked at a couple duplexes yesterday and really liked the first one we saw. It's in really good condition. The backyard is fenced, there's a heated storage shed in the backyard, and it's in a fairly quiet neighborhood. It's $950/month, but worth it, we think.

Next year we'll buy a house.

# # #



sign my guestbook

< GBS & Pregnancy | Car Accident >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved