Monday, Jun. 7, 2004 | 5:27 a.m. Alaska Time

What a day!

Last week, I was invited to two showers--one bridal, the other baby. They were both scheduled for yesterday, one in the late morning, one in the late afternoon.

So I get up in the morning, take a shower, leave hubby with the girls at 10am to go to Habitat to buy a gift and get to the location by 11. Well...

The mall that Habitat is in doesn't open until noon. So I go downtown to the other mall that has another Habitat only to find that the stores in that mall don't open until 11 and that mall's Habitat is closing up shop anyway! Fine, I can buy the bride a gift later but I really hate attending such events without a gift.

So I go on my way to the house where the party's being held. I follow the mapquest map that's included in the invitation, only to find it's incorrect. I finally find my way to the street, but can't find the address. I had been there once before, but back then it was winter and dark. I even tried to call on my cell phone, but it's a !#@!$ tracfone with poor service and couldn't connect.

After driving up and down the street a few times, I finally just pulled into a driveway with a close enough number and got lucky.

The bridal shower was fun, the food was delicious, and the bride got some really nice gifts.

I went home to find hubby and the girls in the backyard. While I was gone, hubby had dug up some dandelion roots. He's on this health kick lately and now it includes dandelion roots. The things look like old dried up carrots.

After being home for awhile, it was time to go to the baby shower. Hubby said he'd drop me off and pick me up later.

So we stopped first at Baby Depot in Burlington Coat Factory to get a gift. On the way, I couldn't find the invitation with the address in it. I knew the area and figured we'd find it. But when we got to the street, there was no telltale sign of which house it was. So I called the mother-to-be to ask her which house it is, only for her to tell me the shower was canceled because she's either having early labor or the flu. She said the party throwers had contacted everyone who had RSVP'd. Of course I hadn't.

So we went home. On the answering machine was a message from another guest telling me the shower had been canceled. She left the message right after we had left the house.

The shower will be held at a later date.

# # #

In other news, school is over for Anchorage students. That means no more preschool for M until next fall. She won't have the same teacher, which is disappointing. M really liked Franny and wants her back. C will start kindergarten next fall.

# # #

I bought a small swimming pool for the girls on Friday at Costco. We brought it to my mother's that day and the girls had a blast.

I filled it up again at home over the weekend. My plan was to fill it halfway with cold water then hook up the hose to the hot water heater and fill it the rest of way with hot water so that the water would be warm enough to play in.

Didn't quite work out that way. I was able to hook up the hose to the heater, but there was a small leak at the connection and the floor around the heater and under the washer and dryer got all wet. I used several towels mopping up that. Plus, there wasn't much hot water so the pool was cold anyway. Oh well...the girls had fun running through it. Hubby emptied it yesterday.

# # #

I dyed my hair yesterday. Tried one of those new kits where you can highlight a few strands here and there. It looks terrible on me. I highlighted too much and too long. I'm tempted to get it professionally fixed.

# # #

Hubby and I may be going dipnetting for salmon in a couple weeks or so with a friend of mine and her husband. It will be an overnight trip and we'll leave the girls with my mom and stepdad. Should be fun.



sign my guestbook

< Insert Witty Title Here... | What a day! >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved