Thursday, Mar. 7, 2002 | 11:43 p.m. Alaska Time

Lost in Wal-Mart Hell

My husband likes to sleep with a fan on. The whitenoise of the motor helps him sleep by blocking out other noises. His fan has been breaking down and is on its last legs. It's to the point where he has to hand-crank the fan blades much like pilots used to have to hand start the props on their engines.

Our apartment stopped heating about four days ago, but only at night. It would warm up during the day just fine until two days ago when the temperature didnt' rise above 60. Hubby turned the oven on and opened the oven door just to get some heat in the place.

So we decided he needed a new fan and we needed a space heater until the landlords could get somebody over here to fix the heat. So I headed on over to Wal-Mart last night.

Now, I don't know about the Wal-Mart stores in your area, but the two here in Anchorage are moving their departments around. As a result, the fans and space heaters weren't where I was expecting them to be. And they have stuff piled in the middle of the aisles worse than they usually do. It's so bad, you can't get your cart through. To get to the other side of the aisle, you have to go to the END of the aisle and do a U-turn. And to make matters worse, I didn't feel I could ask for help because the stockers were speaking anything but ENGLISH! I think I heard a couple Tagalog conversations, a few in Spanish, and who knows what else. I was surprised to see a white girl working there!

I found a space heater on my own. Yup, you guessed it, in one of those middle-of-the-aisle barriers. Half an hour later, I still couldn't find the fans. After asking some oriental guy where the fans were, he explained they were in the hardware section. Funny, I had already checked there. So, I went back. Still couldn't find them. And then BAM! there they were. In ANOTHER middle-of-the-aisle barrier! I nearly ran into them with my cart.

Sometimes I really hate shopping there.

sign my guestbook

< Who are the people in your neighborhood? | Could a day get any more interesting? >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved