Wednesday, Sept. 19, 2001 | 10:45 p.m. AST Alaska Time

Unpacking is a chore

Moving in is almost as bad as moving out. Lots of unpacking. Lots of moving little children out of the way of unpacking. "LET GO OF THAT KNIFE!!!"

I've unpacked most of the kitchen and the bathroom. Our drain in the tub seems to be permanently slow. I've tried three straight days of Drano Max, Drano something-that-takes-the-gunk-off-the-inside-walls-of-the-pipes, and that foam stuff. Nothing's working yet.

I also attempted to take the shower head off so I could install my own, but the old one won't budge.

I started putting aluminum foil on the girls' window today to keep the light out. The light wakes them up early and keeps them awake during naptime. I got just 1/4 done.

I'm not sure, but C might be ADHD (sp?). She's so hyper and can't seem to control herself sometimes. She can't pay attention and doesn't listen. But am I expecting too much of a 2 1/2 year old? She doesn't stay in bed during nap time and can get out of a crib now (and into one) by herself. Since she doesn't stay in bed, I've resorted to using the harness tied to the bed to keep her there. Don't worry, I make sure she can't hurt herself. Call me a bad mommy, but this kid is unbelievable! What else can I do? Spanking doesn't work. Talking, explaining doesn't work. Rewards don't work. Threats don't work. Punishment doesn't work. I'm at my wits' end!

Today, I was showing C how to put pennies in a piggy bank. M came over and grabbed a handful of pennies. I thought she would try to copy C and put pennies in the bank. Uh-uh. She opened her mouth WIDE and her fistful of pennies headed towards it. She would have had all of them in her mouth if I didn't stop her. Later, she figured out how to open the bottom of the bank and stuck her hand in to grab pennies. She had a fistful but then couldn't get her hand out of the bank. I thought she would be stuck like that. After a few seconds, she figured it out.

Later, C and I were sitting on the couch. She was watching TV and I was reading. I have a bad habit of cracking my knuckles and I did it without even thinking. Next thing I know, C's asking me to help her. I look at her and she's squeezing her fingers against her palm with her other hand, trying to crack her own knuckles! Ack!

The girls and I ran errands all morning. First we picked up the checkbook from Hubby, then paid the electric bill and got electricity disconnected from our old place (something I should've done last week!). Then we went to Home Depot where I bought a couple new bulb covers to replace the ball-shaped ones that were hanging over the sink. (Hubby said they looked like testicles, esp. since one was hanging lower than the other!) Then it was on to a photography studio to pay a guy for taking my pictures for that modeling expo I went to last month. He wasn't there so I called and left a message. After that, we went to my storage unit place and paid another month's rent. I had been meaning to be out of there by last week because we have enough storage space in our new place, but since all of our stuff is in the way, I just paid another month's rent and will get it out of there by October 15th. M was asleep by the time we got there and slept all the way home. She woke up while I was trying to get her out of the car, however, and didn't go back to sleep when I put them down for their nap.

Hubby was told at his job today by a co-worker that he's too smart to be working there. He took it as a compliment. He doesn't like working there and this compliment today just added fuel to the fire to find a new job in a few months.

Nestle came out with a new product, cinnamon-flavored baking chips. Sounds pretty good, so I bought some the other night. Gonna make cookies with them sometime soon.

Well, now I'm just rambling. It's getting late and I'm still at work. Goodnight!



sign my guestbook

< Catching Up | A \"Shitty\" Morning >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved