Friday, Dec. 06, 2002 | 11:45 p.m. Alaska Time

Longer version

Hubby's surgery was Thursday morning at 7:30. We had to be there by 6. Which meant we had to drop the girls off at the sitter's by 5:30, which meant I set the alarm for 4:00. I got only 4 hours of sleep!

After checking himself in, we waited for about 20 minutes. They called him in, asked some questions, left him alone to undress and put on a gown and robe, came back and started an IV. From there, he got into a bed and was wheeled to another waiting room, where I waited with him until I had to leave.

My mom and step-father, who were also there, left after awhile, and hubby's mother left an hour or so later. They all had other things to do. I took a nap for an hour.

The surgery was to last 4 hours. After three, they let me know it was over and that he was on his way to the recovery room. The neurosurgeon came out to talk with me and his mother who had come back, and told us everything went fine. It was just what he thought it would be, a non-cancerous clump of blood vessels. Unfortunately, they couldn't do a biopsy on it because it was so small, it got sucked up while they were draining the cyst. Hubby's mother had to leave suddenly because of a phone call she got...more drama with M*rgana. Something about her ex-boyfriend calling the cops because she was unsupervised with their baby. MIL eventually came back with M*rgana and the baby. It was the first time I had seen M*rgana in months because of all the trouble she caused me and me telling her not to call our house again. I was civil to her, though what I really wanted to do was slap her silly.

Hubby was in the recovery room for a long time waiting for a room. He waited for at least six hours. I got to see him for about 20 minutes while he was in the recovery room.

He was moved to the ICU where I stayed with him most of the evening. The anesthesia was wearing off and he started getting headaches in his forehead, nausea, and a fever. Then he'd alternate between sweats and chills. Most of the nausea and sweats were side-effects from the pain medication. The headaches, his doctor explained, were probably caused by some air getting into his head during the surgery and since air rises, that's why he was feeling it in his forehead. He wanted me to stay overnight, but I couldn't. I had to pick up the girls from my mother's (she had picked them up from the sitter's) and was already late.

C kept asking questions about Daddy and I did my best to answer them. I put in really simple terms what happened to him and why he's in the hospital. M's too young to understand.

So this morning, I dropped the girls off at the sitter's earlier than usual and went straight to the hospital. Hubby was still in the ICU and looked and sounded better. They moved him to another room in another part of the hospital. Mom picked up the girls again and I went to pick them up around 9pm and we left there around 10.

And that's where we stand now.

I'm taking the girls to a Children's Christmas party in the morning and will stop by the hospital after that to visit. It will be the girls' first time that they'll see him since the surgery.

sign my guestbook

< The Short Version | On the road to recovery >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved