Monday, Sept. 15, 2003 | 6:23 a.m. Alaska Time

Traffic Court

I've been neglecting my diary too long. Sorry 'bout that.

I'm now working the morning shift, 3:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. In fact, that's where I'm writing this entry from right now.

In other news, hubby and I have been trying to get the truck and van back into shape. On the truck, a headlamp was burned out, a taillight is burned out, hubby had new tired put on, and the brakes needed fixing. On the minivan, besides the damage from the collision (more on that in a bit), a taillight was vandalized. We finally replaced that.

I went to Wal*Mart sometime last week after work to buy a new headlamp and taillight for the truck (among other items). When I got out to the truck in the parking lot, I saw somebody in the car parked in front of me. Not wanting to blind them by turning on the headlight, I was going to turn them on after pulling out of the parking space.

I forgot.

As a result, on the way home, a police officer pulled me over. While he had his lights on, the highway was down to one lane. Not wanting to hold up traffic, I waited until more lanes opened up before pulling over.

He treated me like he suspected me of driving drunk because I didn't have the lights on and didn't pull over right away. He asked if I had anything to drink or if I was on any medications.

Well, DUH! Has he no common sense? Who the hell is going to stop with only one lane open on a divided highway?

He didn't cite me for the no headlights, but he did give me a ticket because I had no proof of insurance. I usually carry the proof in my checkbook but hubby took it out of my wallet a couple weeks ago.

So, as a result of the ticket, I have to go to traffic court by tomorrow and pay a fine. The fine for carrying no insurance is $100, but the officer told me they usually reduce by half it if I bring in the proof.

Still, $50 is a lot for us to shell out right now.

Speaking of traffic court, hubby and I have to go today for a hearing because the other driver in the collision we were in on August 11th is contesting her ticket.

*sigh*

Max, Mom's dog I wrote about in my last entry, died a couple days ago. They were at camp, near Tolsona, Alaska, miles from any veterinarian, when my step-father noticed Max was kinda stiff, but still alive. The nearest vet, in Copper Center, was leaving town in the other direction. So, Mom was driving to Palmer to bring Max to a vet to ease his suffering either with painkiller or to put him to sleep. He died along the way. Mom says probably from strokes or a heart attack. So she drove back to camp, where they cremated him in the dump.



sign my guestbook

< Short & Sweet | Traffic Court >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved