Monday, Aug. 26, 2002 | 10:52 p.m. Alaska Time

State fair and idiot drivers

We had a fairly busy weekend. I seem to say that every Monday, don't I? hmmm.....

Saturday was spent moving boxes from the dining room to the living room to make way for our dining table which we picked up later (along with more boxes) from C@role's place, where we stored it and other junk for the past month.

Yesterday was spent at the Alaska State Fair. Before leaving town, I had wanted to buy a small stroller with a basket under the seat but hubby nixed the idea, saying we'd rent one at the fair. A new, small stroller costs just about $15 or so. At the end of the day, the one we rented cost $12.75. Sure, we saved a couple bucks, but have no stroller. Shoulda bought one, hubby realizes now.

Anyway, the girls had a good time at the fair, so did hubby and I. C took a ride on the ponies. M really wanted to also, because C was, but we weren't sure she was ready for pony rides. Next year. It was the same story with some of the kiddie rides. We did let M go on a couple rides, but for the most part, it was C with hubby.

Overnight last night, hubby started feeling dizzy and sweaty. He thinks it may have been something he ate at the fair, but he's not sure. Needless to say, he called in sick today.

Because he stayed home sick, I had to pick up the girls from the sitter's. It's nearly a straight shot home from there, taking maybe 15-20 minutes in rush hour traffic. But what I didn't know what that up ahead there was a traffic accident. It closed the road I was driving on so I had to detour through Merrill Field. I finally got home around 6:45. I had left work at 6:00, arrived at the sitter's at 6:10, left at 6:15. By the time I got home, I should've left immediately in order to arrive back to work on time. But M wanted to cuddle. She had been fussy most of the way home, so we cuddled for a bit before I left. I was about 15-20 minutes late back to work.

The traffic-stopping accident went something like this: A driver of a red Humvee ran a red light, being hit by two cars. The driver spun around in a nearby gas station and took off at about 70mph down the road, downhill, on the sidewalk. As he tried to get back into traffic, he hit two more cars, finally bringing him to a stop after his front end was smashed in and he lost a front tire. Turns out the driver was the owner of the local Dodge & Chrysler dealership! What a fucking idiot. Lucky he didn't kill anyone, but two people were sent to the hospital, which, luckily, was right there where the accident happened.

sign my guestbook

< The splint came off | Election Day & Hummer Update >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved