Wednesday, July 23, 2003 | 12:17 a.m. Alaska Time

Since LAST Wednesday
(no, I'm not making this a weekly thing)


Ever feel like just not updating your diary, so you don't?

That's how I've been feeling since my last entry.

# # #

Shit didn't hit the fan, thank goodness and knock on wood. Eventually, shit will hit the fan for some other reason. This family I married into always has to be in an uproar over something. Soon enough, it will be my turn to be shit upon again.

# # #

My sister (hi Ginny!) and her daughters left a couple days ago, back to Wyoming.

# # #

I finally got around to depositing the loan check today. Hubby and I spoke about the wisest way to use it. Half of it will go towards his medical expenses, the rest will go towards my student loan to get it current, get my discover card balance down below the limit again, and then with whatever's left over, think about a computer.

# # #

Speaking of buying computers, C@role wants to sell us hers for $900. She must be hard up for cash again. Hmmm...I wonder if it's the computer from which she wrote a bogus email to herself from me posing as M@rlene.

# # #

On Saturday, we drove out to Pyrah's farm again to pick some more veggies and brought my sister's older daughter with us. After the farm, we went to my mom and step-father's house to drop her off and ended up staying for dinner. When we were leaving and I opened the passenger side car door of the minivan, I noticed it made a sound it hadn't made before. So I looked closer and noticed the right front panel was bent in towards the back of it, right next to the door. Somebody had hit our car at the farm! So Sunday, we called the police to file a hit-and-run report for the insurance claim I'm going to file tomorrow. The officer gave me a form to fill out, proving to the state that I have insurance, and told me to give it to the DMV.

On Sunday, we made our usual weekend pilgrimage to Costco. Since Jiffylube is across the parking lot and our car was due for an IM test/oil change, we left it there while shopping. Jiffylube is authorized to renew car registrations but hubby didn't understand, so didn't have them do it. Oh well, I had to go to the DMV anyway so would bring the paperwork with me.

And I misplaced my driver's license somewhere.

So, killing three birds with one stone today, I went to the DMV to turn in the accident insurance form, renew the car registration, and get a new license.

The guy helping me was kindof an asshole about the insurance form, saying they don't send them to Juneau right away. I said, "but you will send it, right?" He said it could take a couple weeks. I repeated my question, "but you will send it, right?" He said yeah. I said that's fine and that I was just doing what the officer told me to do.

Sheesh.

# # #

At the farm, we picked some rhubarb so I made a deep dish berry-rhubarb pie yesterday. Hubby ate most of it today. I had maybe a slice. It was gone by day's end. I don't think the girls got any. Hubby wants rhubarb jam now. I better get some jelly jars tomorrow.

If I can't fill the jars I buy with the rhubarb jam I make with ALL the rhubarb we have, I can make fireweed jelly.

# # #

In the past, I've tried growing avocado plants from seed, but always lost patience after a few weeks of the seed suspended in a cup of water, doing nothing. A few months ago, I decided to try again, with patience this time.

It took six weeks, but the damn thing finally grew a root and a couple weeks after that, sprouted a stalk.

It's now about 8 inches tall or so and unless I want a tree, have to pinch it back by about half. I'm hesitant though. I remember my mom "pinching back" my sister's coleus plant she had when we were kids and the poor thing died. Besides, the avocado plant is finally growing leaves!

# # #

A co-worker of mine is selling his house and we took a look at it over the weekend. Hubby fell in love with the backyard, I fell in love with the kids' playhouse. It also comes with a greenhouse. It's 3BR, 1.75 bathrooms, and just our size. Hubby even mentioned getting financing and making an offer.

Let me elaborate on the playhouse. My co-worker built it for his daughter. It's got a deck, carpeting, a loft, electricity, a phone jack!, and is well-insulated. It's just amazing! Slumber party heaven!

On the other hand, we're also planning on moving out of here into a different duplex which we haven't found yet. I've driven by one and looked at two others. The one I drove by is too small and too far away. One that I looked at was nice, but the driveway is extremely steep and the house is too far away anyway. The other place I looked at has berber carpeting and coin-operated laundry that is shared with the neighbors. If you've been reading my entries, you know I hate berber carpet. I also hate to pay to do my laundry. I hate going to the bank to get $20 worth of quarters just so I can wash my clothes.

There are a couple other duplexes we're interested in but I've been playing phone tag with the owners trying to set up an appointment to see them.

Grr! Why can't we just be homeowners like everybody else?

sign my guestbook

< Shite | Forgetful me >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved