Thursday, July 24, 2003 | 11:30 p.m. Alaska Time

Forgetful me

I forgot to call the insurance company about the hit-and-run. I forgot to buy jelly jars.

I forgot to mention in my last entry that I forgot to place a pan under the rhubarb-berry pie while it was baking and it bubbled out and dripped all over the bottom. So the next night, I turned on the self-cleaning cycle. It's a new oven so the self-cleaning cycle stunk up the house pretty bad.

I forgot a lot, didn't I? I must be getting old.

Anyway, to counteract the smell, I made stovetop potpourri (water in a pot, add cinnamon, cloves, whatever you have...simmer). Last night, I did some of the dishes when I got home. I turned on the stovetop for the potpourri. While organizing the dishes, I placed a large plastic bowl on top the stove. A bit later, I picked it up and it felt warm.

You guessed it, I turned on the wrong burner for the potpourri and placed the plastic bowl on it, melting the bottom and ruining the coil.

So today, after dropping M off at preschool, C and I went to Home Depot to get a replacement coil. They didn't have the type I needed. I'll have to get it from Sears tomorrow.

I went to the student loan office to bring my account current. $646.65 worth of 9 months of back payments! Can't let that happen again!

I have just a couple years left to pay on it.

My father and his wife are in town for meetings. Well, he's here for the meetings, she just came along with. Anyway, they're stopping by to visit tomorrow evening around 7, when I'll be home for lunch. The house is a wreck. I'm so embarrassed to have anybody over. There's a pile of laundry that needs to be folded, junk that needs to sorted/thrown away, carpet that needs to be vacuumed, a kitchen that needs to be cleaned. Sometimes I wish I was the type of person that has to have a spotless house so that I'm not embarrassed for company to drop by. Maybe someday when we OWN a house, and actually care about the property, I'll be more like that.

I'm so fucking lazy is part of the problem.

sign my guestbook

< Since LAST Wednesday
(no, I'm not making this a weekly thing)
| Yesterday, today, tomorrow... >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved