Thursday, Oct. 17, 2002 | 9:24 a.m. Alaska Time

Nearly Quarantined

Damn Adam and Eve had to go and screw up everything for us, didn't they? Because Eve succumbed to her temptations to eat the apple and then tempted Adam who then also succumbed, all of humanity has to suffer for their disobedience.

Did I get that story right?

Right. Like I really believe everything the Bible tells us. I take most, if not all, of it with a grain of salt.

Anyway, I'm talking about the coxsackie type a virus my girls have been suffering with for the past week. I mean, why do there have to be viruses, especially this one, to make humans suffer? Especially the children?

This coxsackie shit is for the birds. My poor babies. C's over the worst of it, but M's miserable. She's got a high tolerance for pain, but this stuff is bad. All she can do about it is whine and cry. I feel so sorry for her. I offer her tylenol and motrin for the pain and fever but she'll take it only on her own terms. In other words, I give her the syringe full of it and she'll suck it down when she's ready. The doc prescribed a benadryl/lidocaine/mylanta solution to put on the mouth sores but M won't let me near her with the stuff.

Not only all that, but the virus makes their breath smell like shit.

On top of all that, I've got a cold and laryngitis.

I can't wait until it's all over.

I'm supposed to be at work early today for a training class. The van is still in the shop. I was planning on getting up the same time as hubby this morning and dropping him off at work, running some errands, dropping off the girls at the sitter's and then go to the class. But I forgot about my plans this morning and stayed in bed.

Oh well, the girls and I are sick anyway.

God I hate being down to just one vehicle!

I checked the bus schedule online, but it's just not feasible for me to walk four blocks with these two to catch a bus to go downtown to change busses to get to the sitter's, then to catch another bus, get off at a stop, wait for another bus to get me to work. That's too much work for a one-hour class.

Too much.

sign my guestbook

< Coxsackie Sucks | The Inconveniences of Having Just One Vehicle >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved