Monday, Aug. 12, 2002 | 9:17 p.m. Alaska Time

Pyrah's vegetable farm

Saturday, we took two of our nieces, ages 11 and 8, with us to Pyrah's Pioneer Peak farm in Palmer. It's a farm where you can pick your vegetables. We had a blast. The older niece didn't want to stop picking. C slipped in the mud and got all dirty. Her face was covered. I should've brought my camera. They grow some HUGE zucchini out there! I mean, some are about two feet long and at least 8 inches in diameter! We plan on going out again this Saturday. We shared the bounty with our nieces' family and my mom and step-dad.

Sunday, C's right-front tooth was chipped on the bathtub when she slipped while I was washing her hair. Poor kid. I'm bringing her to the dentist's office in the morning to see if they can do anything about it. I took M to the hospital yesterday to have them rewrap her bandage around her arm. It was coming loose and fraying and about to fall off. The put a better quality bandage on it, but it has already come loose a couple times so I've had to rewrap it myself.

We made shepherd's pie yesterday with the vegetables we picked at the farm and shared it with my mom and step-dad. Mom really liked it. I guess John did too, but he didn't say.

When we got our van, we noticed it took a while to come to a stop when braking. Then the brakes started squealing. Well today, they started grinding so I took it to the Chrysler/Dodge dealer to have them repaired. It's going to cost us about $370. At least the brakes will work like they should!

I think I forgot to mention that the other weekend when we went out to Palmer, we bought some fresh rhubarb. Fresh as in just cut from the ground. Anyway, with it, I made rhubarb/strawberry/raspberry/blueberry pie. Hubby absolutely loved it! It was pretty good, I thought. Not award-winning, but good. We bought the strawberries and raspberries from a roadside fruit stand.

sign my guestbook

< M's speech, or lack thereof | One-eyed me >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved