Sunday, Oct. 21, 2001 | 11:32 p.m. AST Alaska Time

The past three days

Well, the reason I haven't updated in three days is because I've been out of town. I'm at my sister's in Nome.

We arrived Friday afternoon. Our plane was delayed in Kotzebue because of a loose seal under a flap on the right wing. I was concerned we'd have to get off the plane and wait for another one to arrive. Luckily, if that'd happened, I have relatives in Kotzebue. And luckily, it didn't have to happen because a mechanic in Kotzebue was able to fix the problem.

So the first day I was here, we didn't go anywhere or do anything... it's too fucking cold. The second day, we visited our father and his wife for a while.

Today, I could tell my sister was getting a little bothered by us so I borrowed her car and took the girls out for a bit. We visited my grandparents. My grandmother is in the second stage of Alzheimer's but she still recognized me but asked a few times where we're living now and what my girls' names were. It went better than I expected.

My sister and I went out on the town last night. It was mostly dead, but we saw a few friends and a cousin

Until today, C and my sister's daughter, T, got along very well. Today though, they kept fighting. C was usually the instigator, saying "My ____! (fill in the blank)" And T would reply, "No, MY ____!" Back and forth. Several times today, different objects or people. My sister and I had to keep telling them to not talk to each other, not look at each other, not play together. It was awful. I had to keep getting after C to stop grabbing toys from the other kids. My sister had to keep telling T to share. T's problem is that she's more or less an only child for now and doesn't usually have to share her toys. C's problem is her idea of sharing is taking whatever she wants from whomever has whatever it is she wants. And they're all toddlers, which is everybody's problem. The number one Toddler Law of Property states, "If I like it, it's mine."

My other grandmother came into town this afternoon and is also staying here at my sister's.

All of us went to a relative's home for turkey dinner. While there, M bonked her upper lip on a metal futon frame and got a fat lip. C bumped her forehead on a corner. No bruise yet. My grandmother's an alcoholic and was drinking beer. My sister and I were concerned she'd drink too much, but luckily she didn't. Overall we had a good time though.

Putting M to bed tonight was kinda rough. She wouldn't stay down. I finally gave in and warmed a milk bottle and held her until she fell asleep. I know, not the right thing to do. I know enough about bottle mouth not to let a baby fall asleep with a milk or juice bottle. I don't do it on a regular basis, so we're fine.

So here I sit in the dark, typing this entry. Everyone's in bed. We've been sleeping in the living room on an air mattress and now my grandmother's sleeping on the couch. She was snoring a bit ago, but is quiet now.

We go home tomorrow afternoon. I'm sure my sister and her kid will be happy.

sign my guestbook

< No sleep for this mother-wife | I'm baaaaaa-aaaaaaaaack! >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved