Thursday, Mar. 20, 2003 | 9:53 p.m. Alaska Time

My health, for a change!

I've written about everybody else's health, now it's time to write about mine.

As long as I can remember, I would get frequent headaches. Not migraines, just headaches. I usually took Excedrin to get rid of them. In the past few years, they became a daily occurence. Last May, I finally sought medical help for them. On an almost trial-and-error treatment, my doctor prescribed one medication after another, seeing how well each worked. The second type, amitriptyline, worked, but made me sleep longer than I should have. In the mornings, the girls would be up, tearing the house down while I was in bed, not caring. So then my doc prescribed atenolol, which didn't help at all. He then prescribed something else and referred me to a neurologist. The neurologist discontinued the meds I was on, prescribed nortriptyline, and told me not to take Excedrin for a month. Like an addict, I was hesitant to quit what I had become so dependant on. That was February 4th.

Finally, some relief. I take one 25mg capsule of nortriptyline each night before bed and wake up headache free! It's to the point where I don't even notice it anymore. I used to wake up every morning with a pounding headache.

Bye bye Excedrin!

If you're a guy and don't like to know about "female" bodily functions, stop here. Buh-bye.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

okay, still with me?

In other health news, "Aunt Flo" hasn't arrived yet. It usually arrives on the 17th of every month. It's three days late. I hope I'm not pregnant. I mean, we want another kid and all, but not until C starts school. Which means we plan on getting pregnant around the first of next year.

On the other hand, I've got a history of whacky periods. At first, they were never regular. Then they quit altogether for more than a year. I finally went to see a gyno about them. She put me on provera to jump-start my system and birth control pills to keep them regular. Then there was a time when I would get serious cramps, enough to make me stop, sit down, and bend over, all the while just holding my abdomen as tightly as I could and hold my breath until the pain passed.

I'd say my periods have been pretty regular the past couple of years. Recently though, they've been a bit whacky. Last month, I had mid-cycle spotting and now this month, it's late.

I hate this whole bloody ordeal every month.

It's not like hubby and I have sex all that often. We're just getting back into the swing of things after his two surgeries.

This would not be a good time to be pregnant with me taking birth control pills and nortriptyline every month.

sign my guestbook

< Sick Baby Weekend | \"Mama, where is God?\" >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved