Monday, July 7, 2003 | 11:04 p.m. Alaska Time

My Holiday Weekend

The pimple on my ass has been taken care of. It's gone.

Thanks for your concern.

# # #

We flew to Nome the morning of the 4th, arriving there around noon. My father picked us up and we went to visit at my brother's house. Later, Dad, Hubby, the girls and I drove to Council, a small village/town about 76 miles northeast of Nome. This website isn't mine, but is has some pretty good pictures of what you would see on the trip to Council. Hubby wanted to go to Council because that's where he lived when he first came to Alaska. We didn't stay long before driving back to Nome.

The next day, plans were to leave Nome at 9 a.m. and fly to Golovin (pop. 148). But when C woke up, her left eye was swollen and pink. I suspected pinkeye. So, I took her to the hospital where they confirmed my suspicions with a pinkeye diagnosis and gave us some eyedrop medication. We finally left Nome around 10:30 a.m. and arrived in Golovin around 11.

My father was the pilot of the 6-seater Cessna 206. Hubby sat in the co-pilot's seat. My sister sat behind our dad and held her 10-month old daughter. I sat next to them, holding M. C sat behind my sister and my sister's older daughter sat behind me.

On the way down, we saw a brown bear. That was pretty cool.

Anyway, we got to Golovin and went to my grandmother's house. She was already at camp, where the family reunion was to be held, and so we had a hard time finding the key to her front door. After about 10 minutes of looking in, on, around, and under everything in sight, my sister found it on a nail under her stairs. Hubby took off to videotape what he could.

After a while, sis and I took our girls and went looking for a boat ride to camp. We met hubby and our uncle on a 4-wheeler and asked for a ride. He told us to meet him at his boat soon.

He arrived with flotation devices for the kids and we set off for camp, across Golovnin Bay, about a 10 minute boat ride.

A whole slew of relatives showed up. I'm guessing maybe 100 or so in all. I know maybe a fourth of them. Too many cousins. There were races for the kids, gospel music singing, lots of eating, and a gift exchange. A good time was had by all.

We flew back to Nome later that evening. On the way back, we saw three bears, 4-5 dead walruses, 1-2 dead seals, and a dead whale. I also spotted bear tracks on the beach that must've gone on for a few miles. We got back to town around 11 p.m.

That was Saturday.

Sunday, hubby, the girls, and I went walking around Nome. We went to a cafe for lunch then went to my grandparents' house to visit, but they weren't home. We walked back to my father's house where I did some laundry and hubby took a nap. After a while, we walked over to my brother's house to visit and have dinner.

We went back to my dad's house to finish laundry and pack because our flight was at 8:30 p.m. M fell asleep on the plane and slept the whole way back.

I left out a lot of little details that I may come back to fill in later.

The trip definitely wasn't long enough.

Now hubby's thinking of money-making businesses he can start up in Nome so that we can move back. I've always wanted to move back, but now I'm having second thoughts. Mainly because of the poor school system Nome has. The students are at least a grade behind most students in Anchorage. If we move back, I think I'd have to home-school the kids, and I don't know if I really want to do that.

# # #

When we got back to Anchorage, there was a message from our apartment manager that she needed the rent check before the next morning. So I wrote out a check for $1700 to cover June's bounced check and July rent.

Well, she called us tonight to say that she deposited the check in the landlady's bank account. When she spoke with the landlady, it turns out the landlady also redeposited the June check! We don't have enough to cover $2550 of rent money. So I'm going to have to make a stop-payment on one of those checks tomorrow. What a pain in the ass. The manager also told us the rent was going to go up by $100 in September due to higher property taxes. Our place is not worth the $950 she wants to charge us so we're going to move, AGAIN! I hate moving! I'm definitely going to have to have a yard sale to get rid of a bunch of our crap so that we'll have less shit to move.

I was really stressing about the $1700 rent check this morning when I woke up, wondering if I should have just written one check for July and worried about June separately. That's what I should've done.

Now hubby is mad at me because of this. He claims he told me that the landlady would try to redeposit the June check. I say he didn't tell me that. So now we're gonna have to pay a stop-payment fee.

I'm going to meet with my credit union tomorrow to see if we can get this straightened out for as little cost as possible. Free would be nice.

# # #

I left a voice mail message for my 401(k) administrator on Thursday. She called me back this morning to say she never got the fax I sent her three months ago requesting a loan from my account. So I refaxed it this evening. I'll give her a call tomorrow to see if she received it this time.



sign my guestbook

< Pimple Butt | Money Money Money >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved