Friday, Feb. 21, 2002 | 11:34 p.m. AST Alaska Time

It's a jungle over there...

My mother has 83 plants. I know because I counted them all when I went over to check on their place while they're in Hawaii (again). I must've made 10 trips to the faucet to refill the watering can thingy. Probably took me half an hour to water all of them.

My mother works for the airlines so she and her husband get to fly for next to nothing. He's retired, she works part-time and since she's worked for this company for almost 24 years, she get a lot of vacation time. He's also originally from Hawaii, his father still lives there, so they go there at least four times a year. As often as they go there, they should just move there.

Today was my husband's 34th birthday. A couple weeks ago, he told me he wanted a 3-layer german chocolate cake with cherry filling between two layers and chocolate pudding between the other two, frosted with that chocolate/coconut frosting they put on german chocolate cakes. A week later, he suggested bananas to be included. We nixed the banana idea. I made the cake today. It was good, but very messy. He said his mom used to make it in a deep pan. Well, had I known his mom did that, I would've too.

I bought him a bodhran for a gift (that's a celtic drum, for those who don't know). He loved it, which makes me happy. The girls enjoyed our little birthday party.

Our new sitter is working out fine but for one minor detail. She told me when we started that she sometimes gives them kool-aid but not often. I'd like her to define sometimes, because it's been nearly every day that they're getting something sugary or otherwise not nutritious. In the past two weeks, I've seen cookies, candy, kool-aid, cheese puffs, but today was the clincher. When my husband picked them up, they were snacking on cheese puffs and SODA. What I don't understand is that she's enrolled in the government's food program and I assume they teach her what's considered a healthy snack and what isn't and the money she gets can only go towards certain snack foods (thinking graham crackers, fresh fruit, etc.). And what's more, she once studied to be a NUTRITIONIST. Hello? What's wrong with this picture?

The past few days have been clear and cold but it hasn't been bothering me like it did a couple months ago and I think I know why. We're getting more daylight so I'm looking forward to spring's arrival. But this is the best part... the sun's rays are intense and warm enough now to melt the ice buildup on my car's windows so I'm starting to park it facing the sun, so I don't have to scrape the windshield. Yeehaw! Anyone who lives in this type of climate knows what a bitch it is to scrape hardened frost/ice off of car windows in extreme cold.

sign my guestbook

< They're up to their old trick again.... | Sick Toddler >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved