Tuesday, July 30, 2002 | 10:28 p.m. Alaska Time

Am I jinxed? Or is a higher power trying to tell me something?

As if life can't get any worse.

I just found out today that one of our photographers/editors is going to need heart surgery very soon. When he was 18 or so, he had to have a valve in his heart replaced. They replaced it with a pig's heart valve. Well, that valve is starting to deteriorate and needs to be replaced. So they're going to replace it with a mechanical valve probably sometime this week or next. He'll be out for a couple weeks and then after that, won't be able to lift heavy stuff for a couple more weeks.

Which means that we'll be down in staff. Not just by him though. We've got another photog leaving for Spokane and some are taking vacation time.

So what does that mean to me, you ask?

Well, let me tell you.

I just applied for a job at a local hospital and put in my application that I would be available August 15th.

With this guy out and us being down in staff, I don't know what my leaving would do. I know I shouldn't care, but I'd feel like I'd have to stay past August 15th.

This has happened to me once before. I got sick of working at my job and applied for a sales position at a local radio station. I had two interviews, it looked like I was going to get the job, and then suddenly changes were happening at work and if I left, it would leave nobody really knowing how to do the job, so I withdrew my application from the sales position.

Well, I'm not going to do that this time. I may have to delay accepting the new position if it's offered to a later date, but gosh darnit, I'm putting my foot down!

sign my guestbook

< I'll be damned | A Challenge >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved