Saturday, Apr. 26, 2003 | 11:28 p.m. Alaska Time

A long, jam-packed day

My goodness, we had a busy day. Probably the busiest in a long time.

C woke up at her usual time of 6:30, hubby got up soon after. I heard them talking very quietly (so as not to wake up M and me) about going to the store together. But before they could leave, M got up. She wanted to go too, but got left behind. She came back to my room in tears that she couldn't go. I was still in bed. Hubby should've taken her too and let me get some much-needed sleep.

I told M we'd go somewhere together later, just the two of us. But she wanted to go RIGHT NOW. I kept saying later, later... Then she suggested a walk ("wah?" she says) and gave me that wide-blue-eyed look. How could I say no? Finally I agreed to get out of bed. I left a note for hubby and M and I went for a walk, just the two of us down the street. It was actually very nice, that early in the morning. No traffic in our neighborhood and very peaceful.

We got about two blocks when hubby and C turned the corner. So we hopped in and went the two blocks back home.

After an hour or so, and enough hearing C asking if we could go outside to build the shed, the girls and I went outside to start on it. Hubby came out about �-hour later to help.

Our Korean neighbor was very interested and watched closely, sometimes lending a hand when he thought it was needed. He's a very quiet man named Kim.

So we got the shed put together and started moving some boxes into it. We moved some other stuff into the storage shed that was already here, but it's a creepy little thing we've never used before. I sorted through half of the girls toys, threw out a bunch, and put the rest in the creepy shed.

While hubby raked the yard, the girls and I took a shower.

We had to get away from the house for awhile so we went bike comparison shopping. We went first to Play It Again Sports but hubby didn't find anything there priced right. So we stopped at a pawn shop across the street. They wanted $1300 for some bike! Great googly-moogly! We then went to a bike specialty store. I told hubby it would be expensive, but he just wanted to look. Their lowest priced bike was $386. Off to Sunshine Sports, where their lowest was $295. We were also looking for something for the girls to ride in, either bike-mounted seats, or a pull-behind trailer. A salesman at Sunshine Sports convinced hubby a trailer is safer. It's what I tried telling hubby a couple years ago, and he agreed at first, but later changed his mind to the mounted seats. *sigh*

Hubby's not out to get the latest and greatest bike, just something in good condition that moves, used or not. We had no luck looking in the paper this past week.

We knew Costco has bikes for $99 and trailers, so that was our next stop, after leaving the minivan at Jiffy Lube across the parking lot from Costco for a lube/oil filter/something else change. Unfortunately, Costco was out of the $99 bikes and trailers they had last week. I called a co-worker whom I know has a bike trailer left over from when his daughter was that small and asked if he'd be interested in selling it to us. He said it probably needed some attention, but that we were welcome to take a look anyway.

So after we bought hubby a $164 bike (they had some for $142 too, but they were too small), two helmets (one for me), a pizza, and oranges, we picked up the van and hubby rode his bike home because there was no way it would fit in the van (it was pre-assembled).

Then it was off to my co-worker's house. He was right, the trailer needed some attention. A LOT of attention! It's dirty, has some mildew stains, and the tires need some air. We bought it anyway, $20, because we want to go biking tomorrow. I figure I'll just hose it off, spray it with some mildew-killing spray, scrub the hell out of it, and hope for the best.

After my co-worker's place, it was off to Fred Meyer (Kroger's) to get the girls helmets, a couple of tools, and a padlock for the shed. M and I got separated from hubby and C on the way to find the padlocks. Since he had the shopping cart, I figured he'd find the padlocks. M and I caught up with him and C at the checkout, where I asked hubby where the padlock was. He forgot. *sigh*

Finally went home for good where hubby put the pizza in the oven. I tried cleaning house, but I was just so exhausted from the day, I put it off until tomorrow.

Tomorrow is supposed to be another beautiful day and the wind is forecasted to be about 15 mph, so maybe we'll try to fly our kite again. Definitely going to take the bikes for a spin. Also have to put the leaves/grass/pinecones hubby raked into bags. And of course, the dreaded housework, dishes/kitchen and laundry.

I had bought lawn bags for the yardwork, but our Korean neighbor gave me a handful of large bags anyway. I think he and his wife are janitors because they work late hours and the handful of bags he handed me today are the janitorial type.

His son or daughter lives in the other half of their duplex (just like ours, but with a basement) with a spouse and their own children, two of which have become fast friends with our girls. They have a 4-year old boy named Bill and a 3-year old girl named Elise. I think there's an older daughter too. I'm not too familiar with all of them yet.

Boy, this is getting long, but I've got a lot on my mind.

I usually don't get Mom anything for Mother's day, not even a card. I do call her up on that day or visit. I once got her a flowering plant, and hubby and I took our mother's out for dinner one year (step-dad came too, of course), but like I said, it's usually nothing.

Well, this year I wanted to get her something. I didn't want to get another plant because her house is already a jungle, and the usual stuff seems so commercial. So I did a search on ebay for the term "mother's day." There were a zillion matches and I started browsing and something caught my eye. It was a plate. She has a small collection of plates. So I'm getting her three plates by Bareuther of Germany that each say Mother's Day in German, and then each has a different year, one for each of the years she had a child, 1970, 1971, and 1975. You can see them here, here, and the one I'm going to bid on here.

sign my guestbook

< Yes, I'll have some cheese with this whine, thank you. | The last straw >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved