Monday, Apr. 26, 2004 | 4:14 a.m. Alaska Time

Warning! Grumbling ahead!

Criminy, it's been awhile, huh?

I won't even try to remember what's happened the past two weeks.

I need to make dental appointments for my remaining two cavities and checkups for the girls. I tried to make the appointment for the girls but the office wasn't taking appointments until the end of April for June appointments. [grumble] Damn government-funded native hospital. [/grumble] Sometimes I wonder if it would be worth it to get dental insurance and go to a private dental office.

I bought a tracfone a couple weeks ago after letting my cellphone company disconnect my cellphone. Tracfone seemed like a good idea until I tried activating it. At the end of the activation process, it tells you that your phone will be active in 24-48 hours. Well. 96 hours later, my phone still wasn't active so I called their toll-free number and they had me punch in some long-ass code in my phone, after which the phone worked.

But.

People calling me from local numbers had to dial 1+area code before the number. That' didn't seem right. So I called them back, they told me they would have to change my phone number and had me punch in a couple more codes. That was Thursday. Today is Monday. My phone still isn't active so I don't know if local callers still have to dial 1+area code first.

I'm starting to wonder if this tracfone is really worth all the hassle it's giving me.

It's finally spring in Alaska. The snow is melting, the grass is starting to grow, as is some rhubarb and chives in our backyard that the owner planted before she moved out. The weather is warmer, the sun is up longer.

We bought C a new bike for her 5th birthday in January. She really wants to go biking so hubby and I put the bike together over the weekend. M gets C's old 12" bike which was a hand-me-down to begin with, so it needed some work. We bought new training wheels for it, those dangly things that hang off the handles, and new tires. The training wheels and dangly things were no problem. Changing the tires though proved to be a bitch. I got the front tire changed with some difficulty. The back tire though...I couldn't even get the motherfucker off the frame, let alone changing the tire. *sigh* Hubby will just have to manhadle the thing I guess. If he can't/won't do it, I'll take it to a bike shop and ask them to do it. I'm also planning on getting M one of those little baskets to put up front and maybe, just maybe painting the bike pink. It's a nice scratched up purple right now.

sign my guestbook

< It's been a problem child week | The past three weeks >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved