Sunday, July 22, 2001 | 1:59 p.m. AST Alaska Time

dryer fire

I told our sitter last monday of our plans to change care providers. I had to tell her son because she wasn't home yet from her trip to Florida. He seemed surprised.

My husband's new position is in Accounts receivable and shipping. He doesn't mind. He's got a dinky little office though with a bad computer monitor, one of those old black and green screens.

My mother-in-law and her co-worker cleaned our place last Monday. God bless them! They did a fantastic job!

I finished Sidney Sheldon's latest book last Friday. Not bad, but pretty predictable.

Our dryer caught fire this morning! I had just put a load in to dry just a few seconds before I smelled a burning smell. I opened the dryer and out poured smoke. I looked in and what looked like lint was burning in the back, next to the heating element. I pulled out the clothes, looked for the extinguisher under the sink, couldn't find it, grabbed my husband from the bathroom and asked him where it was, he said under the sink, we looked again, it wasn't there, we found it in a cabinet next to the one under the sink, I gave it to him, he put out the fire. Then we called our landlord. He came over and took the dryer away. The thing was less than a year old!

A lot of the problem has to do with the way our building was built, with the dryer vent going UP through wall and through the ceiling instead of DOWN through the wall and under the floor. It seems like our condo complex was designed for more warmer climates, what with the vents going up, the flat roofs (uh, we get lots of SNOW in the winter, hello!), and there was even an OUTDOOR pool when the place was built! How stupid was Alyeska Pipeline back in the day? An outdoor pool?! For crying out loud, this is ALASKA!!!!

Getting back to the dryer... So now we don't have one. Good thing good ol' mom-in-law lives next door! We just bring our wet loads down to her place to dry now! Still a pain in the ass though.

sign my guestbook

< Buy my stuff! | Insomnia, cable guy, diary rings >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved