Tuesday, Jan. 6, 2004 | 4:19 a.m. Alaska Time

ER visit

I ended up taking C to the ER the other night after she puked a couple more times after my last entry. The ER doc said it's a stomach thing going around that he's seen a few times. He also took a look at her throat and took a culture--positive for strep. I wrote earlier about a throat culture they had to do on C and how well (not!) she handled it. More of the same the other night. Writhing, gagging, flailing, screaming, crying, carrying on. Good God, she's such a drama princess.

So they prescribed motrin for her fever, amoxicillin for the strep, and an anti-emetic for the puking. The motrin and amoxicillin went down fine, but the anti-emetic was in suppository form. That's right, it was to go in her butt.

Ever had to shove a suppository up a 4-year old's butt? Not fun. Nearly as bad as getting a throat culture from her.

I had to do it at home and she kept clenching her butt cheeks. After much crying, moaning, clenching, slipping & missing, and position changing, I finally got the damn thing in. I hope I never have to do that again!

What was funny was that after the whole ordeal, she asked me, "mama, how am I gonna toot?"

She also asked me if I was going to take it out in the morning. When morning came, she asked if she could poop.

What's really funny is that in my family, the conversations often turn to the subject of butts and their bodily functions.

And now so has my diary.

sign my guestbook

< Not much of a new year | Sleepovers and baby fever >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved