Wednesday, May 14, 2003 | 11:14 p.m. Alaska Time

I have a dumbass for a hubby

Last summer, hubby was talking about taking a glacier cruise and I bought two tickets from a co-worker who had bought them for $100 at an auction and couldn't use them. I bought them for $80. Tickets usually go for $129, EACH. We had made arrangements to go one day last fall to celebrate our 5th anniversary. Unfortunately, mother nature had other plans and our cruise was canceled. It was the last weekend of the season. So we saved the tickets for this spring.

Well, more bad luck. We misplaced the tickets sometime over the winter. Hubby called the company and luckily they're letting us on anyway. So hubby went ahead and reserved our spots for this weekend, without arranging for a sitter first! Dumbass. So I asked our sitter if she could watch the girls Saturday. She said she'd have to check with her husband first to see if they had anything planned. So I called my mother to see if she could if the sitter couldn't. Mom is working for somebody on Saturday so she can't.

Then when I dropped the girls off at the sitter's today, she says she can't either. Apparently her hubby said no because she's been watching kids for the past three weekends (she usually doesn't), and he wants her for himself. But she said she could next weekend.

So I called hubby at work to tell him the bad news but that he could call the cruise company to see if they can change our tickets for next weekend. So he called them and they changed the tickets.

At work, I get a call from the sitter, saying she can't watch them next weekend either because it's Memorial Day Weekend and she and her husband already had plans to go to their cabin. But that she could do it the following weekend, on the 31st. My mom can't do it on MD weekend because she'll be in Hawaii.

So, I called hubby back to tell him the more bad news. He's getting upset because the cruise company told him they could only make one change for us, and they already did it.

When I went home for dinner, he was mad at me for this whole thing when he really shouldn't be. I'M NOT THE DUMBASS WHO MADE THE RESERVATIONS WITHOUT ARRANGING FOR A SITTER FIRST! What does he think we are, childless? dumbass.

So he suggested that I call the company to see if they'll change the tickets to the 31st.

Apparently we have to use them by the end of May.

I'll call the company. I'll tell them hubby misunderstood me and made the wrong re-arrangements. Hopefully they'll buy my story.

# # #

Wednesday mornings, I take the girls to a local school gym to play with the equipment. There are several other children there. Today was the last scheduled day. But we didn't go. It's scheduled for 10am-11:30am and we usually arrive around 10:30. This morning, though, I was too tired to get out of bed before 10:30. By the time I'd have us all showered and ready to go, we'd get there around 11:15...so not worth it.

Tomorrow morning is M's speech group therapy. Which means, like last week, running to one end of town to drop off C at the sitter's, then running to the other end of town for group. In all, about a 45 minute trip.

What's nice about these mornings is that group gets out at noon, which leaves me with just one kid (the easier one) for an hour and a half.

Well, I'm typing this at work, after work, and it's now nearly midnight. I gotta stop by the store on the way home to pick up some carrots for hubby (he's into juicing vegetables lately) and some bacitracin or something to put on M's abrasions (she fell outside the sitter's and has a nasty abrasion on her right arm). Good night!

sign my guestbook

< We interrupt a normal Tuesday to bring you CHAOS! | Thursday Means Group Therapy Day >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved