Monday, Sept. 22, 2003 | 6:53 a.m. Alaska Time

Dog Bite

Wow. Has it really been 5 days since my last entry? Time sure does fly, and I'm not even having fun!

Today is the day I'm to bring the van to the shop to get fixed. We need a rental car while the van's being fixed, but the representative of the other party involved in the collision is hemming and hawing about paying for it. Well, WE'RE not going to pay for it, seeing as it was the OTHER PARTY'S fault for the collision. Good grief. Well, she better make up her damn mind before this morning when I call my rep because we can't afford a rental and shouldn't be driving around the four of us in a 3-passenger truck, especially with our my crazy schedule.

We went to my parents' cabin near Tolsona over the weekend. We left Saturday afternoon. Before leaving, the girls and I went shopping for a few things for camp, including new swimsuits for M and myself. Since it's the off-season for swimsuits, there wasn't much to choose from. I found the last one in M's size and tried on three for me. God, I hate trying on swimsuits! I've gained weight and it was showing, mostly in my hips, butt, and thighs. Thankfully, one of the suits I tried on hid most of that with an attached pair of shorts. It's black all over which helped a lot.

At camp, we soaked in the hot tub, where C practiced swimming. She even had her eyes open under water. M enjoyed the soak too.

Mom, stepdad, and hubby enjoyed the soak inmensly (sp?) as they were drinking beer at the same time. I'd drink with them, but somebody's gotta be coherent for the children. Not that they get falling-down drunk, but still...

Mom and stepdad got out early with the girls, leaving hubby and I alone in the hot tub. It was nice to talk with each other without constantly being interrupted. While we were out there, the others were eating dinner inside.

Hubby and I went inside a bit later to eat. Stepdad's dog was inside, but tied up. C was petting him. I was nearly finished eating when I heard the dog snarling and C screaming. I looked over to see her scrambling to get away from the dog. She climbed onto the kitchen counter and would've climbed the walls if she could. Stepdad got to her first, then me, then hubby. She was bleeding.

The damn dog bit her face.

We were a couple hundred miles from Anchorage, but just about 13 miles from Glennallen. So, after much arguing and blame-laying by stepdad and mom, and trying to figure out what to do next, stepdad came with me and C to Glennallen to their clinic there.

Poor C. As if a dog bite wasn't bad enough, they had to give her shots in the two wounds that needed stitches to numb them. She received five stitches in one wound and one stitch in the other. There are other lacerations, but just minor scrapes. She's also got some bruising. The stitches come out Wednesday afternoon.

So, stepdad feels guilty. He was spoiling C the rest of the visit. Mom's pissed at stepdad. She gave him the ultimatum of either he kills the dog or she's gone.

See, this isn't the first time the dog's done something like this. He snapped at one of my brother's boys once and at another child another time. He didn't hurt my nephew and I don't know the damage, if any, to the other child.

I don't know what's going to happen next. Hubby wants the dog killed too. I feel like it's my stepdad's dog, he's got to make the decision what to do with him. If he keeps the dog, we'll just keep the girls away from the dog. It's not like C's going to want to go near him again anyway.



sign my guestbook

< Traffic Court | Dog Bite/Car updates >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved