Sunday, Jun. 15, 2003 | 11:42 p.m. Alaska Time

Father's Day Weekend

Yesterday, we brought our computer to a computer repair business to see if they could figure out why our computer freezes when we have the new CD-Rom drive hooked up and try to use the Internet. They couldn't duplicate the problem so hubby showed them today. But, he needed it back to install some new software and work with some files, so he took it home, unrepaired. We'll bring it back this week or next weekend.

Our new oven arrived yesterday morning around 9:30. When they took out the old one, I was so disgusted by what had been under it and what had dripped on the wall behind it. While the delivery guys were taking away the old one and getting the new one, I quickly swept the floor and sprayed 409 on the wall and floor, cleaning it as best I could.

So, I tested the oven today by making cookies. The damn thing heats up to 50 degrees less than it should. Hopefully it's only temporary.

We went to the celebration of life gathering for hubby's deceased co-worker yesterday. I hardly knew anybody there. C & M thought it was a party and played with other children there. Nobody seemed to mind. We had gone with my mom and step-dad who live right next door. We left before it was over and went to their house. The girls played and sang karaoke kid songs. Mom, Hubby, and Step-Dad drank beer like they always do. I don't know why, but I never feel like drinking beer with them.

Mom had bought an outdoor fireplace the day before and apparently, step-dad had a hell of a time putting it together. But, it was outside and they lit a fire in it, despite a high fire danger right now and a burn ban. There's a loophole though. You can burn outside if you're cooking. Of course, the powers that be mean like a gas grill. But mom interpreted that loosely and will get around it by getting out the hot dogs and marshmallows next time. It was raining yesterday, and we didn't have the hot dogs or marshmallows, and maybe because of the rain mom thought it would be okay to light a fire for a short time. Step-dad just burned old newspapers anyway. Luckily, the fire department didn't show up.

Speaking of the rain, it was coming down pretty hard. We even had a few lightning flashes and thunder. Pretty rare to see that here. Usually every few years.

Today was a good day. Hubby got up early and went for a bike ride. When he came home, he did dishes. I waited patiently for him to finish so the girls and I could give him his father's day gift. If you don't recall, it's a t-shirt on which I had painted w/fabric paint "we (heart) daddy" with the girls' handprints on either side and their names painted in them. He really likes it. He wore it all day.

We went to see Finding Nemo. It's rated G, but in my opinion, should be at least a PG-13 because it's pretty scary in some parts.

We got out of the movie at about 4:15 and went to eat at Pizza Olympia. We made sure to sit way back in a corner where we wouldn't bother other diners with the girls acting like typical kids in a restaurant. M kept getting out of her seat and hanging around our booth. C kept trying to get under the table. Luckily we ate early enough the restaurant wasn't full of other customers.

We came home and hubby worked with the computer while I cleared some junk from the backyard and mowed about a third of it. Mowing is hard work! I could feel my heart beating hard and fast in my chest.

I don't have much experience with lawn mowers. The first time I ever mowed a lawn was in '94 and I bent the blade running over a tree root. The mower I was using today is brand new and to start it, you turn a key. Thank goodness, because I have a hard time starting a pull-start mower, especially since I'm left-handed and the pull-start is usually on the right (or, at least the backup pull-start on this mower is on the right). We had let the lawn grow too long that the mower filled up quickly and would stop when it was full. The bag that I put in the 33-gal. garbage can to fill with grass cuttings was small and weak that it collapsed the first time I tried to fill it. Guess I gotta find those lawn and leaf bags we have somewhere.

I learned one thing about mowers today. There's a flap on the underside (God knows why!) that swings 180 degrees. If the flap is facing forward, it makes pushing the mower extremely difficult. I gotta keep that damn flap in mind tomorrow when I mow the lawn some more.

I hooked up my scanner today and when I tried to use it, I got some error message. Damn. I really wanted to upload some new pictures.



sign my guestbook

< Good news, bad news | The Ref >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved