Thursday, July 24, 2002 | 11:24 p.m. Alaska Time

Career change?

I just applied online for a job at a local hospital.

I've worked for the same company now for more than ten years. I even went to school to work in this industry.

Just to get a job amongst many who did not get a degree and are working the jobs I want but don't have. How fair is that?

I've bided my time here, waiting for the opportunity to work in the position I really want. I did work it, briefly, but then said I wanted to work a different shift. Well, the only position open in the evening shift was the position I'm in now, which is videotape editor. The position I really want is Technical Director.

It's what I've wanted to do since I was 16. Like I said, I did do it briefly, but it was the morning shift after my baby was born and the hours were killing me.

Now I'm stuck as an editor. I do a good job, but I'm sick of it. Mostly sick of reporters not doing their jobs correctly, causing me delays in mine.

That, plus there's this one girl whom I can't stand. She's one of the ones without a degree who is working in the position I want. She got her way by being overzealous. She's so outspoken and opinionated that nobody likes her. Now she's writing stories for the newscasts, without a journalism degree.

I guess she and I just have different ways of looking at life and getting what you want. She goes for the gusto while I'm of the train of thought that good things come to those who wait.

Plus, the culture I grew up in was such that you don't ask for what you want, you sit back and hope it comes to you. If it does, great; if it doesn't, oh well. Well, I'm tired of waiting. I've even told those in charge what I want and what my goals are, but to no avail.

I guess it's the squeaky wheel gets the grease. Apparently I'm not squeaky enough.

So, being unhappy here, I applied for the position of Pharmacy Technician at Alaska Native Medical Center.

Wish me luck!

sign my guestbook

< A long weekend | SLAP! >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved