Monday, May 21, 2001 | 4:54 p.m. AST Alaska Time

Busy Weekend

C got pinkeye two days ago. What fun. Ever tried holding down a two-year-old, prying her eye open, and putting eye drops in her eye?

If that's not a birth contol method, I don't know what is (not the eyedrops, the experience of what I just explained).

M took her first steps by herself today. She was cruising along grandma's coffee table. I held my arms out and before she knew it, she was walking to me! :o)

I sorta gave hubby a guilt trip about not offering to pay my way to the modeling convention in Seattle in August. I told him, "I just don't get how you can give your siblings $2000, no questions asked, and you won't give me a measly $550." The thing is, I neverasked for the money, but he knew I was having trouble coming up with it on my own. He thinks it's a scam, I know it's not. I didn't mean to lay a guilt trip on him, it just happened that way.

We finally figured out how we're gonna go to our friend's wedding in another town next weekend. Mom's gonna watch C while we take M and share a hotel room with my sister and her family.

Our hot water crapped out on us again. That's the third time since we moved in here two years ago. Twice in the past three months. Luckily we have a great landlord who can fix things. In fact, he's here right now fixing the heater. Of course it will be a few hours before we have hot water.

My mother had knee surgery today. She's 52. It went well and she's at home already.

My grandmother's in town for a while, staying at my mom's. Grandma's full-blooded Eskimo. We went over last night and had Eskimo Food. Soul food, I call it. Most people gross out on the thought of eating raw muktuk (whale skin with a bit of blubber), tomcods, seal oil, dried fish, or blackmeat (dried oogruk meat). But to me, it's a delicacy. Surprisingly, I'm not burping it up.

My grandmother's hobby is to crochet. She crochets afghans all the time. She really likes the mile-a-minute variety. Right now, she's crocheting a braided afghan. She's supposed to crochet a bunch of zig-zags and then braid them together. It's gonna look pretty awesome when it's finished.

My sister's going to be down the middle of this week. Thank goodness, 'cause then I can unload a bunch of baby/toddler clothing on her. She and I swap clothes for our girls all the time. When C grows out of hers, I pass them on to my sister, who puts them on her toddler, "T." When T grows out of them plus her own, my sister passes them on to me for M. When M grows out of them, I keep what's ours and return T's lot, plus more handed down from C and the cycle starts all over again. It works out great, for now. That is, until M passes up both T & C. M's growing faster then the both of them. Their pediatrician says M will catch up to and pass C when she's 18 months old. Then M will be passing clothes onto C then to T!

We've been trying to clean house today. Hubby took care of the kitchen and some clutter, I took care of laundry. Still have more to do. And then there's dinner to worry about. Hubby bought steaks last night for a BBQ at his sister's place but we went to my mother's instead, so we're having the steaks tonight. Probably some baked potatoes too and corn. Easy enough. I should just start planning a weekly menu. Better yet, I'll buy the latest Family Cirle or Woman's Day magazine and use their two months of meals calendar they publish periodically. I used that when my sister stayed with me and it worked out great.

Hubby wants oatmeal cookies. I'll make some for him because he's "loaning" me money for Seattle. He bought me flowers yesterday too, for no reason. The least I can do for him is make cookies.



sign my guestbook

< Outta the house | Wacko! >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved