Wednesday, Apr. 30, 2003 | 11:23 p.m. Alaska Time

I broke something

I broke a tooth. No, not in the sense that I'm teething, sillies. One of my upper right molars acutally broke.

I was eating a sandwich and put my tongue up between my gums and cheek to dislodge some sandwich when I noticed something weird. After clearing away the food, I realized half my tooth was gone! Disintigrated!

I guess I should've expected it.

The tooth had been bothering me for awhile and now it's half-gone.

I really hate going to see the dentist. It wouldn't be so bad if in my past experiences, they didn't talk to me like a child. It also wouldn't be so bad if I had dental insurance and could see a private dentist. But I don't have the insurance because being half-Native Alaskan, I can go to the local hospital for natives free of charge, which includes their dental clinic. Besides, insurance for my workplace is unbelievably high due to so many people around here having serious health problems (premature baby, heart transplant, diabetes, to name a few).

But their dental clinic sucks. You can't just call and make an appointment. It used to be that you'd have to call at 7:45 a.m. on Tuesday mornings and pray you got an appointment within the next couple of months.

Now, they're not making appointments. When you call, you get a recording that goes, Thank you for calling the anmc dental clinic. ... If this is an emergency, please come to the clinic at 7:30 a.m. Monday through Friday."

Well, that's the after-hours recording. The during-hours recording is a bit more involved.

In any case, I have to go there at 7:30 a-fucking-m tomorrow.

Which means hubby is dropping the girls off at the sitter's before going to work. M's speech therapist is scheduled to arrive at 11 a.m., but I just may have to call her to reschedule for Friday or just cancel altogether.

I just know I'm gonna get there at 7:30 and then wait and wait and wait to be called. Guess I'll bring something to read or do.

sign my guestbook

< The last straw | Dental Update >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved