Sunday, Sept. 22, 2002 | 11:07 p.m. Alaska Time

Warning! This is a bitch & moan session!

Today was an odd day.

The only quality time I get to spend with hubby and the girls is on the weekends. We usually do some grocery shopping, other errands, and occasionally take a drive down the scenic Seward highway. We did some shopping yesterday.

Today was a different story. It was a beautiful day so I suggested we go for a drive to get out of the house. But hubby was on a mission to find his Office 97 software so that he could reinstall it to try to get Access working again (it currently gives us some error message saying something like it won't run because we don't have a license for it on this computer). I asked if he looked in a certain box and he said no, so he did, and there it was. Then he spent the next few hours obsessed with trying to reinstall it every which way he could. All the while, I'm complaining that we're wasting a beautiful day inside. He doesn't care, he's got to get the damn software working again!

And he wonders why I never make suggestions about what we should do.

The above is a perfect example. Whenever I suggest something to do, he comes up with some excuse not to do it. Like on Saturday, I said I wanted one of our errands to be to get M's 2-yr. portraits done. He said he doesn't like to do that. I suggested we go to my mom's to drop something off, he says he doesn't want to go there.

Sure, I could do this stuff without him, but I could do it without him during the week. I just wanted to do stuff together outside the house on the weekend, no matter what it is. I hate being cooped up inside when it's a nice day outside. See, winter's coming and we don't have many nice days left until next spring.

# # #
Tomorrow is my mother's and step-father's 13th wedding anniversary. Sometimes they seem on the brink of divorce, but they usually seem pretty happy. Sometimes I wonder if they stay together for the grandkids.

# # #
My work situation isn't getting any better yet. There was a chance I'd be able to go back to the morning shift (2:30 a.m.-11:30 a.m.) if the morning editor was willing to swap shifts with me. I found out Friday he doesn't want to because there's a chance he may take classes at APU next spring semester. Our immediate supervisor wants me to be happy, so he suggested I call up the guy and talk him into swapping until then.

I'm not sure how I feel about the whole thing. On one hand, I want to work the morning shift but on the other hand, I just want to quit. I did apply to work at a local hospital as a pharmacy tech, but they haven't called me yet about the position. I know that tomorrow, my supervisor is going to ask me if I called the morning guy yet.

I got my degree in this field, I should have the job that I want in this field. I don't. I've known since I was 16 that I've wanted to be a technical director. I'm currently a video tape editor in the news department. Meanwhile, those hired after me, without degrees, are doing the job I want. How wrong is that? One girl more or less bullied her way into the position.

But, I saw a ray of light today in the way of a news story at 5pm. My station did a story about how a bunch of people were hired and going through training for security positions at the airport. Well, guess who was in the video? THAT girl! And her husband, who also does the TD position at my work. So, if they're really gonna be leaving, I may be able to slide back into that department and into that job!

So my options seem to be 1) call the morning editor and convince him to swap shifts with me, 2) stay in the evening editor position, 3) hope the hospital calls and eventually hires me, 4) hope I can get back into operations/TD.

I should have never left the morning TD position. I left it in July 2001 because hubby convinced me I was killing myself doing it with not getting enough sleep. The only position open in the evening at the time was this tape editor job. I didn't realize what a mistake I'd be making. Sure, I'm getting enough sleep, but I hate my job and I'd rather be at home with my family in the evenings.

Hell, I'd rather NOT be working, period! Or, at the most, work part-time. *Sigh* If only we could afford that.

# # #
Okay, I've bitched and moaned enough. I'm done. I just wanted to get it out.

sign my guestbook

< Diaries, trimming nails, autos, movies | Damn, Damn, Double-Damn! >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved