Saturday, Sept. 21, 2002 | 11:57 p.m. Alaska Time

Diaries, trimming nails, autos, movies

I'm surprised. I didn't get to check my buddy list this morning, so when I checked it just now, I expected most of the diaries to be updated. Out of eight (not including mine or Andrew's News), only one was updated. Oh well, made for some short reading!

# # #

Why is it so damn difficult to get a toddler to sit still long enough to cut his or her fingernails and toenails? When C was younger, I was able to restrain her to cut her nails. Sure, she hated it and put up a fuss, but she wasn't strong enough to get out of my grasp.

M is. She's a tough kid. I don't have to trim her fingernails anymore because she chews them off (gross habit, but not much I can do about it now) but she kicks her legs so hard when I'm trying to hold her feet that they get loose from my grip. I finally waited until she was asleep and was able to trim three of them before she subconciously pulled her feet away. Then she turned over and tucked her feet under her! Little shit! (and I mean that in the nicest way, of course.) So I tried it that way but then she kicked her legs out and finally, I was able to gently lift her legs long enough to trim the rest of the nails!

Hubby won't trim their nails. He's too afraid he'll cut into their skin. Chicken shit. (and I mean that in the nicest way, lol!)

# # #

A while back, the "check engine soon" light started illuminating in our truck so hubby brought it to Ford to see what was up. They said it was the catalytic converter and that they'd have to order one and would call us when it came in. Before it arrived, however, the light stopped illuminating. So either the light burned out, or something else... Anway, in the meantime, the driver side passenger seatbelt broke. We finally brought it to Ford today to get the converter replaced and the seatbelt fixed. Hubby also asked them to look at the brakes because they've been squealing lately. They told us they'll be done probably on Monday.

We went to Costco today where hubby looked at prices for new tires for the truck. To get four new all-weather tires is going to be nearly $400! That's f-ing ridiculous!

Now we just need to get some minor work done on the minivan. The car came with some work needed that the car dealer said they would take care of but didn't have the parts right then (do they ever?). They did call us a while back to let us know they had them, but it took us forever to get back. When we did, the guy who had the parts wasn't in the office and the salesman didn't know where to find them. They're just small parts like a visor hook and front headlamp. Other than that, we also need to get the rear taillight fixed (some idiot vandalized it) and the front bumper fixed. The front bumper is my fault. I didn't realize it was so low and when I parked it one day, I parked too close to the guide thingy that the bumper got caught on it. When I tried to back up, the bumper got stuck. When I did get free, it caused the bumper to start coming off.

# # #

We rented "Monsters, Inc." and "Changing Lanes" tonight. Both pretty good movies. I liked Monsters so much that I'm going to buy a copy. It made me cry. I don't think I've ever cried because of an animated movie before! The little girl was so much like M!

sign my guestbook

< Random Thoughts | Warning! This is a bitch & moan session! >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved