Monday, Aug. 4, 2003 | 10:51 a.m. Alaska Time

Birthday Party

I stayed up way too late Saturday night preparing for the birthday party and trying to assemble a tricycle for M. At one point during the assembly, I needed a hammer to put an endpiece on the axle. With no hammer in sight, I tried to use the butt end of a screwdriver instead. Hubby yelled from the bedroom to stop it. *sigh* Wasn't working anyway. So I continued with the rest of it. I got as far as putting the handlebar on. There's a step where I was supposed to put the female part (handlebar post) over the male part (frame post) and put a clamp around them and tighten the clamp. Having never done this before, I didn't understand the illustrations and the written instructions didn't explain it, so I was tightening the clamp around the frame post only. When I finally realized my mistake, it was too late. I couldn't widen the clamp. So I gave up for the night and went to bed around 4 a.m.

I got up at 8 a.m. and went to Home Depot to buy a new clamp. Not finding them, I asked an employee where they were. Apparently, they don't have the size clamp I needed, so he widened the one I had instead.

I went home and assembled the rest of the tricycle. I was putting the tools away when I realized I put the handlebar on backwards! (Insert potty mouth face here) So I disassembled that part, reassembled it the right way, and wrapped it up.

Then I couldn't find our cooler in which to put the ice cream, potato salad, etc. So I ran to Fred Meyer and bought a new one with plans to clean it and return it after the party. Well, at the party, I used the lid as a cutting board for the watermelon, and left cut marks in it. So we're just gonna keep it.

When we got to the park for the party, it was overcast. I prayed it wouldn't rain, but it did, a little. My aunt and her boyfriend, MIL, crazy SIL w/her baby, Mary and her two kids, and my step-sister/2nd cousin were all there. C@role was supposed to come with her kids, but she got dizzy/sick at the store before the party while buying a gift for M, so she went home instead. I had invited our babysitter, but she didn't come. My mom and stepdad are in Hawaii for his step-mother's funeral, so they couldn't be at the party. And I'd been trying to get a hold of my cousin to invite her and her family, but they have no answering machine and apparently never got the online invite I sent them. M@rlene and her kids are in Nome, so they weren't there either.

We did get a couple uninvited "guests" however. A mama moose and her baby were there. Luckily, they stayed far enough away that they and we weren't threats to each other.

I took pictures and will post them when I get them back from Costco.

After the party, we all took well-needed naps.

We took a walk last night. Well, the girls rode their bike and trike while hubby and I walked. We stopped at a park near a lake. There was another couple there with whom we talked for quite a while. They have a 2�-year old daughter and 6-month old son.

sign my guestbook

< Asshole | GBS & Pregnancy >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved