Monday, Sept. 16, 2002 | 11:20 a.m. & 9:40 p.m. Alaska Time

Bad news, Good news

We got a call Saturday morning around 8:30. It was Phillips Cruises telling us they canceled the cruise due to bad weather in Whittier (Alaska, not California). They told us they could reschedule us for any cruise this Monday-Thursday (after which would be the end of the season) or we could wait until next spring. Since we both work during the week, we told them we'd wait until spring. *sigh* Oh well.

That's the bad news.

The good news is that my computer is back up and running. But the display is only 16 colors and I can't resize the screen. It's stuck at the largest setting. So, either it's the new video card that's causing it to look like this (since the card is only 16MB) or I need to reinstall some drivers for the monitor, wherever those disks are. We're still in unpacking hell (we're so lazy). We went with the 16MB card because it was the cheapest at about $40. Hopefully it's just the drivers because I don't want to buy a more expensive card for this dinosaur of a computer (new in '96).

I'm ready to chuck this thing into the garbage and order a new one from Dell. They're having free shipping right now (though to Alaska it would be at a reduced rate, I think), so it just might be worth it. Or, I could settle for an HP, Gateway, or Compaq and buy one locally. We'll see.

~~Later~~

My computer is fine. Turns out the drivers for the new video card weren't installed as I thought they were. I installed them and everything's hunky dorey again. I brought the old card to a computer geek coworker to ask him what the MB size of it is. He said probably 8MB but maybe just 1MB! So, getting a 16MB card wasn't the problem after all!

Other good news... I finally got my new contact lenses from Costco! I'm so happy, so happy happy happy! Now I won't be a "four eyes" anymore! I've been wearing my glasses for at least a month now!

I'm thinking of ordering personalized license plates for our van from Alaska's DMV website. I've got one picked out and it's available. Now it's just a matter of convincing hubby.

sign my guestbook

< Crazy Family Update | Quack Quack >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved