Sunday, Nov. 30, 2003 | 10:19 a.m. Alaska Time

The Past Six Days

Okay, my sister's been bugging me long enough for an update!

I took Thanksgiving off of work...probably the first one in years. I cooked all day. It was just the four of us.

We had invited my mom and stepfather over, but they were going to go to either Fairbanks or Nome. Turns out, they didn't go out of town. I'm not sure if they went to any friends' homes for turkey day either. They still could have come over, but things still aren't 100% back to normal since the dog bite incident.

All M would eat at the table that night was corn. She loves to eat, but wanted only corn.

C has strep throat. She had been complaining that her throat and head hurt. I figured it would pass, and when it didn't, I made an appointment for her. Also made appointments for the girls to get flu shots at the same time.

The appointments were to start at 3:15. We didn't get in until 3:45, then they took forever to get to us. The girls were crying of course because of the shots. C did horribly when the nurse did a throat swab, writhing, gagging, flailing. What fun.

Then, we had to wait another 30-45 minutes for C's amoxicillin.

Amoxicillin is pink and tastes like bubble gum. M loves pink. M loves bubble gum. M wants C's medicine. M's allergic to amoxicillin. M whines and whines for it. Mommy gives her a �-teaspoonful of a look-alike: pepto-bismol.

Two days ago, I notice M's skin is dry, like sandpaper. Knowing that a symptom of strep throat is sandpapery-feeling skin, I made an appointment for her. She never complained that her throat hurt because she has such a high tolerance for pain. So high, in fact, that when she had her last immunization shot, she hardly winced. She did really well having her throat swabbed. The quick strep test came back negative, but the doctor prescribed medication anyway. We'll get results tomorrow for the culture. If it's negative too, we'll stop the medicine.

Speaking of the medicine, it's not pink, it doesn't taste like bubble gum, and M hates it. It's erythromycin. I wish she wasn't allergic to amoxicillin!

It snowed some 6" earlier this week. It's the light, powdery stuff. But we didn't shovel the driveway right away so now it's all hard and compacted. We have one of those big push-type shoves that are supposed to be better for your back, but I hate it. I saw a snow blower at Wal*Mart for $88 last week and it was really tempting. Probably electric, but better than shoveling! Didn't buy it.

We took the girls sledding at a nearby park yesterday. We had a lot of fun, but didn't stay long because of the cold. I need some snowpants if we're going to be doing that again. I've got a $27 gift certificate I have to use at REI by the end of the year so I'll use it for a pair of snowpants today.

We're also going to find Santa at a local mall today...maybe even get the girls picture done with the jolly old elf. We'll see.

C wants everything she sees on TV for Christmas. She wants most one of those easy-bake type ovens. She's only 4, nearly 5. She's not getting a toy oven.

M hasn't really said what she wants. We're getting them refill books for their leapfrog systems, but not sure what else at this point.

sign my guestbook

< M's Toothy Smile | Kirby hassles >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved