Monday, July 14, 2003 | 11:54 p.m. Alaska Time

Since Tuesday

Haven't had much to write about lately, until now.

I stopped by Jeannie Greene Productions last week and spoke with her for a few minutes. She seemed excited that a fellow native Alaskan, and an editor at that, wanted to work for her. She told me to email her my resume, which I did. I later received a reply from her saying that she can't hire me right now because I don't have experience with non-linear (digital) editing systems. Burst my bubble. I received another email from her later stating that she neglected to tell me that I could go to her work on my own time and learn their non-linear editing system. So, that gave me a bit of hope, I guess.

I thought about my work situation a bit more later and came to the conclusion that since we want to have another child, it would be best for me to stay where I am because I have a lot of vacation time and sick hours saved up that I can use as maternity leave. After it's used up, I'll start thinking of leaving again, if my situation hasn't gotten any better.

Saturday, Hubby, the girls and I went to Pyrah's farm in Butte and picked some vegetables. We picked broccoli, radishes, snow peas, lettuce, spinach, and rhubarb. The girls had a good time picking snow peas.

Sunday, we went to the house where M*rgana lives with an old man. He more or less adopted her and her kids as his family because his wife died a few years ago and they didn't have kids of their own. �uke, M@rlene, and two of their kids were there, and so was one of C@role's kids, and hubby's mom. The reason for going there was because M*rgana's oldest child, a girl who's about 12 or 13 now, is in town visiting for a couple weeks. She's C's older sister, biologically. She also lives with her grandfather out of state.

It was the first time I had seen M@rlene in over a year. She ignored me, as I did her. Obviously, C@role hasn't admitted her wrongdoings of last year to M@rlene yet. M@rlene's gained quite a bit of weight!

The kids had a blast because there was a pool in the backyard, which was great because it's been pretty hot here, record-breaking temps.

I won't say how hot because I know all you lower-48ers will just laugh and think it's not hot at all. But, it's hot for us, okay? :o)

We couldn't stay long because we also had to go to my mom and stepdad's for dinner. We brought some salad makings from our previous day's pickings. M fell asleep in the car on the way over so she didn't get to play in the wading pool the grandparents had set out for the kids. My sister and her kids are there for another few days so her oldest had a playmate for a few hours while we were there.

Dinner was good. Stepdad made a roast. Besides the salad, there was also mashed potatoes, salmon, and I'm sure I'm forgetting something. Sis and I made brownies for dessert. We ate outside.

After clearing the dishes and putting food away, we went out to the front yard, made a fire in the outdoor fireplace, and roasted marshmallows. The girls soon got bored with that so it was mainly grampa roasting them. I ate C's first mashmallow because it burned and so she didn't want it. I also show M how to eat her first marshmallow by taking a bite and giving her the rest. She also helped herself to raw marshmallows.

After the marshmallows, we went inside to watch the home video hubby and I made of our trip to Nome last weekend. The girls soon got bored with it and since they were hyped up on marshmallow sugar, ran around and played.

We finally left around 11:15. We were supposed to stop at C@role's to pick up some hand-me-down clothes, but since it was so late, we didn't. I'll make it one of my errands tomorrow.

This morning, C woke up with pinkeye in her other eye. I hate holding her down to put drops in her eye. She squirms, holds her eyes shut, and tries to move her hands to her eyes before I even get close to her.

I made chicken soup for dinner. I started it this morning by putting three leftover roast chickens in a pot, covering them with water, and heating/boiling them on medium heat for about 10 minutes. While they were on the stove, I put a pound of baby carrots, three sliced celery stalks with leaves, and a chopped parsnip in the crockpot. When the meat was done, I took it off the bone and put it in the pot. I added the water (now broth) it had been boiling in. I stirred in some pepper, peppercorns, whatever herbs I could find in my spice rack, and a 12-oz. bag of bowtie noodles. I set it on low for six hours. It was absolutely delicious! Hubby loved it as did the girls.

So...plans for tomorrow...M has preschool at 9. Gonna stop by my mom's to drop off a couple things we accidently took home with us Sunday night, and stop by C@role's to pick up the clothes. Pick up M from preschool at 11:30, go home, bathe the girls and shower myself if we don't do it before preschool, eat lunch, drop the girls off at the sitter's, go to work.

sign my guestbook

< Money Money Money | For your ponderance >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved