Friday, May 30, 2003 | 10:41 p.m. Alaska Time

Renting vs. buying

Hubby and I had second thoughts about the duplex we were looking at and decided to move into and now we're not going to move.

As much as we love the neighborhood, the proximity to the coastal trail, and the fenced-in yard, it's just too small for the four of us. The living room is too small for the amount of furniture we have: couch, loveseat, piano, computer desk, recliner, TV stand...

But, we did have a heart-to-heart last night about the pros and cons of buying a house and hubby gave me the go ahead to get the process started.

We want at least three bedrooms, a fenced-in yard, and a bigger kitchen than what we've been putting up with lately. Two bathrooms would be nice, but not necessary at this point. Lots of storage would be a huge plus too.

What we don't want is a zero-lot line property where we'd be 10 feet from the house next to us or owning � of a duplex. There are a lot of those ZLL properties going up in Anchorage right now, making the city very ugly.

My lucky sister gets to be a SAHM in a fairly new house on FIVE acres! five! acres! They ain't green acres, but it's a big piece of property compared to what I'm used to living on. Anybody know a good-looking single well-paid pilot willing to marry a divorcee with two kids? (bit of an inside joke between sis and me.) Just kidding. I wouldn't even think of divorcing hubby.

On the other hand, my sister now lives in WYOMING...dust, drought, and wind capital of the western U.S.

Hubby has sent out his resume to a few places. One of them, VECO, is where he really wants to work. VECO told him they've got a hiring freeze going on right now.

BIL's wife, M@rlene, had a job at a local hospital, Alaska Native Medical Center, working in some sort of arranging travel position. I heard through the grapevine that she was making more than $18/hour! She got fired for not showing up. I don't know what the exact circumstances are. It could be that she didn't bother to call in sick, or took too many consecutive days off as "sick," or whatever. She did a similar thing at Alaska Airlines when her husband was under investigation for child molestation. She got so depressed that she took sick leave and never bothered to go back, she quit. I suspect a similar thing happened this time with her being depressed.

I was searching that hospital's job listings to see if I qualified for anything and I think I found her position listed, but it's only for $11.79/hour. I'm not qualified for it anyway. Even if I was, I couldn't work for such low wages. I need something that pays at least what I'm making now, $15.23/hour.

I hate my job and am seriously considering telling my boss to find me some other position in this company within two weeks or I'm quitting. I just feel frustrated, ignored, like I'm getting no respect here. I earned a college degree, dammit!

Okay, I'll get off my pitty potty now.

Hubby and I are finally going on that glacier cruise tomorrow. We're dropping the girls off at the sitter's at 9:30 and heading out to Whittier, where the cruise departs from. I don't have a digital camera, but if I ever get my scanner hooked back up, I'll post some pictures when I get them developed.

sign my guestbook

< The new place and the girls | 26 glaciers in one day >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved