Thursday, Feb. 27, 2003 | 9:46 a.m. Alaska Time

RIP Mr. Rogers

From the Associated Press:

Fred Rogers -- the man who was a T-V neighbor to (m) millions of children -- has died. Rogers was 74 and died this morning of cancer. From 1968 to 2000, Rogers was the producer and host of the famed children's public television show, "Mister Rogers' Neighborhood." The final new episode of the series was taped at Pittsburgh's W-Q-E-D in December 2000. But the show has lived on from generation to generation in reruns. Rogers composed his own songs for the show and began each program by putting on kid-friendly sneakers and a zip-up cardigan and singing, "It's a beautiful day in the neighborhood."

How sad. I didn't even know he was sick. I didn't care much to watch his program when I was a kid. I always thought Lady Elaine was an ugly boy puppet. Now that I'm an adult, I still don't care for The Land of Make Believe, but really do enjoy watching the short segments about how things are made.

sign my guestbook

< My Father | Baby Chicks >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved