Thursday/Friday, July 4/5, 2002 | overnight Alaska Time

My Independence Day

Hubby didn't have to work today so we got up around 9 to get ready to go downtown to see the parade. In all the 12 years I've lived here in Anchorage, today was the first time I went to see a parade here. I thought it would be better than the parades I grew up watching in my little hometown in NW Alaska. It wasn't. *sigh* Oh well. The girls seemed to enjoy it.

When it was over, we walked to the Delaney Park Strip to try to catch the family picnic they were having and some of the activities but by the time we got there, C had to potty and the line was super long. By the time we got her in and out of the potty, I had 20 minutes or so to get to work. So we had to walk back downtown to where we parked the car. Of course we were all hungry so we stopped at Burger King on the way to my work.

Hubby and the girls picked me up at work around 6:35 for my lunch break. When we got home, there was a really long message from M*rgana (the alcoholic SIL). She was obviously drunk. She blabbered on about how the adoption wasn't exactly legal because the guy she named as the father isn't really the father, blah blah blah, that she knows I'm on some psycho meds for bipolar because her sister, C@role, looked it up for her, blah blah blah, that C hates me, that her mom told hubby C hates me, blah blah blah...

So I called her back, bitched her out on her answering machine, and told her never to call here again. I then called C@role and said to her answering machine that the only meds I'm on are birth control pills.

ARGH!

Then I went back to work.

Well.

While I was at work, M*rgana called the house, of course and started bitching at hubby...he just hung up on her.

When I came home from work around 10:45, I woke up C and took her to see the fireworks. We had a good time, just her and me. There were a couple women near us who were obviously on something and excited by the display because they kept saying things like, "YES! ALRIGHT! YEAH, BABY!" It was quite annoying.

C enjoyed the fireworks. Me too.

When we got home, C@role was leaving a message on my answering machine, basically bitching at me. She explained that M*rgana, while babysitting once, had rummaged through my medications, found a couple bottles, had called her asking her what they were and if she could look them up on the Internet, and that's where the whole rumor started that I was on psycho meds for bipolar.

So I called C@role back and apologized for sounding like a bitch, that I was sick and tired of all the shit that's been coming down on me lately and M*rgana's message was the last straw. She also apologized because M*rgana had gotten her all riled up too.

So here I sit.

About the meds: I've suffered from Chronic Daily Headaches all my life. I finally went to see a doctor about them. He first presribed divalproex, an anti-seizure medication that has a side-effect of helping headache sufferers. When I went in for a follow-up appointment, I told him they weren't quite doing the job. So he prescribed amitriptyline in addition, a mild anti-depressant that also had a side-effect that helps headache sufferers. Unfortunately, it also makes one very drowsy. I was sleeping in until 10am while I was on it. All the while, C's up doing her thing and M's alone in her crib, wanting out, and I just wanted to sleep. So, while this combo works to prevent my headaches, I feel I also need to be up and about for the girls. I had stopped taking the meds when I thought I might be pregnant and am now more alert in the mornings. The headaches stayed away for a couple weeks but returned earlier this week. I considered going back on them, but I don't know...

sign my guestbook

< Everybody loves the circus! | Feeling Funky >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved