Tuesday, Oct. 22, 2002 | 11:50 p.m. Alaska Time

Hell on Earth

If there's a Hell on Earth, it's in any women's dressing room.

My job interview is at 11 a.m. and I really don't have that many nice clothes to wear. So after work tonight, I went to Wal*Mart to find something to wear to the interview. I first found a pair of navy slacks and a cream colored sweater. Good thing I decided to try them on before buying them because the outfit looked AWFUL on me! It was mostly due to the slacks having a bit of elastic in the waistband and the sweater not being totally opaque. So I put those back and found a pair of black slacks without elastic in the waistband and a burgundy colored sweater. I also bought black knee-high nylons and black flats. I've got narrow-to-normal width feet and the only shoes I could find that I liked were wide. They fit okay though.

# # #

Ever heard of The Wiggles? If not, they're four Australian guys who've hit the big time in the children's entertainment biz. Anyway, we have one of their videos. The girls really like it. On the video, they sing a song about making "crunchy munchy honey cakes." On their web site, they have a recipe for them. I was curious, so the girls and I made them a few days ago. They turned out okay, but I don't think we'll be making them again for awhile. They were messy and sticky to be rolling in our hands!

# # #

Today was M's first speech therapy appointment. A woman named Nancy came to our house. I cleaned house as much as I could before she got here, which consisted of moving the mountain of unfolded clothes from the living room to the bedroom, cleaning the bathroom (in case she asked to use it), and vacuuming the living room carpet. I wanted to clean the kitchen too, but didn't have time. Oh well. Next time. Today's appointment was pretty much like the evaluation appointment a few weeks ago. Since Nancy hadn't met us yet, this appointment was more or less getting to know each other.

A lot of people around us seem to think this therapy is unneeded. We keep hearing stuff like "my kid didn't talk until she was 3 and now she won't shut up!," "I wouldn't worry too much about it...," and "Do you think she's slow?"

Well, frankly, yes I do think she's slow. Her pediatrician says kids her age should be speaking anywhere from 50-100 words. M says 10-15, maybe. I'm not really worried about it, and I don't give a rat's ass if other people's kids didn't speak until they were three. My kid doesn't, and it's frustrating as hell when we can't understand what it is she's whining for and she can't communicate what it is she wants.

That's all I want out of the therapy sessions, is for her to say what she wants instead of a whining/pointing combination.

Is that too much to ask?



sign my guestbook

< Is your butt minty fresh? | The Interview >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved