Tuesday, Aug. 28, 2001 | 12:00 a.m. Alaska Time

C is for Cookie

Here are a couple cookie recipes I've tried: And a few I'm planning on trying: I tried the Neiman Marcus Cookie Hoax Cookie recipe 10 years ago, before it was all over the Internet. I had found it in an Ann Landers column. Pretty good cookie, but lots of work. The Doubletree Hotel cookie, version one recipe makes a pretty good cookie, but rather sweet. It's so packed with chocolate chips and nuts that it holds its shape during the baking process so if you want flat cookies, flatten them with the bottom of a glass dipped in flour. And unless you want HUGE cookies, don't use the 1/4 cup scoop it says to use. I used a regular cookie dough scoop (looks like a small ice-cream scoop) and baked them for 10 minutes instead of the 16-18 it mentions. But they taste quite a bit like the cookies that Doubletree hotels give their guests.
As for the ones I haven't tried yet, Neiman Marcus created a recipe for a cookie in response to the hoax. Version 2 of the Doubletree cookie will be interesting. I have a Mrs. Fields cookbook so I may have already tried her chocolate chip cookie recipe.
When I was a teenager, my mom was given a chocolate chip cookie recipe that was supposedly Mrs. Fields' recipe but it wasn't like the ones I've seen since, purporting to be her recipe. It made some damn good cookies, whether it was her recipe or not. I wonder whatever happened to it. Maybe mom still has it somewhere.

sign my guestbook

< Yesterday, UTI, No sleep, and autumn in Alaska | Writing, for the sake of writing >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved