Friday, Dec. 26, 2003 | 9:11 a.m. Alaska Time

Papa update and Christmas

Wednesday at work, I called a local hospital to see if that's the one Papa was in and they connected me to his room. My aunt answered and she handed the phone over to my dad. Dad said that Papa's feeling much better, more or less like he was before the stroke. We spoke for a bit more and I told him hubby, the kids, and I would go to the hospital after work.

While we were at the hospital, Papa's doctor came in to say the MRI didn't find anything and she diagnosed a mini-stroke. She checked out his fine-motor skills and said he could be discharged that day.

Before hubby, the girls, and I left, we made plans with Dad, my aunt, and Papa to have Christmas-Eve dinner at Sea Galley. Dinner was good, but Papa still seemed a bit out of it and tired.

After dinner, we went home and went to bed. Since hubby and I still had Christmas presents to wrap, we made plans to wake up around 3am to wrap them. I woke up, hubby didn't. It took me a little over an hour to wrap them. When I went to bed, hubby woke up thinking we had to get up to wrap gifts. I told him they were done.

M woke up first around 7:30. She and I sat in the living room watching TV, waiting for hubby and C to wake up. M wasn't excited about the gifts. She picked one up, asked if it was hers, and held onto it until hubby and C got up. C, of course, was excited that Santa came and left gifts under the tree for them.

The girls had a lot of fun opening their gifts and hubby and I had a lot of fun watching. The girls got dolls, a teaset, dressup clothes, books, necklaces, stockings, cookie mix, and other stuff. Mom and Step-dad got hubby and I a DVD player! Hubby was going to get me one...now he doesn't have to.

Dad, my aunt, and Papa came over to visit and also so that Dad could use the computer to check on flight information. I meant to fold the mountain of laundry before they arrived (or at least start), but I got tired and laid down for a while. When they arrived, my aunt insisted on folding it for me and told me to go do something else. So I cleaned the kitchen. They were here for a few hours.

While they were here, my sister called to wish us a Merry Christmas. I told her Dad was here, she was surprised, "Dad's there?!" Then I told her so was our aunt. "Betty Ann too?!" Then I told her Papa was here..."Papa too?! Why? What's going on?!" I told her Papa had a stroke a couple days before. "Papa had a stroke and nobody called to tell me?!" I told her I would have told her but didn't know how to reach her (they were on their way to Minnesota when it happened). So I then told her about everything about the stroke and she spoke with Papa and Dad for a while.

Hubby, the girls, and I went to his mom's to visit for a while. C@arole was laying on the couch the whole time were were there because she's so sick. She recently had a 2nd surgery to remove something from in her ear. She's preparing to die. Hubby thinks it will probably happen sometime next year. I feel sorry for her kids. She named hubby as the executor of her estate, which isn't much tangibly, but does include a life insurance policy.

Just before we left, Hubby gave his sister a kiss on the head before we left, which just gave her a massive headache. He didn't know her head was very sensitive to touch and he felt so bad for making her feel pain that he started to cry. Both his mom and I told him not to feel bad as he didn't know touching her head would cause her pain. We didn't stay very long.

We then went to Mom and Step-dad's house for dinner, where things were more upbeat. Dinner was good, conversation was good. My brother and his boys were there. It was good to see them.

We stayed until 9:30 or so then came home and went to bed soon after.

I didn't go to work this morning. I think I will later for a half day.

I've got quite a few pictures in my camera I want to post here, so stay tuned. I'll post them either later today or tomorrow.

sign my guestbook

< Papa | Just a few pics >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved