Thursday, Jul. 29, 2004 | 8:10 a.m. Alaska Time

Bailey Bros. Circus

We took the girls to the Bailey Brothers Circus last night. No, not the Ringling Bros.-Barnum & Bailey Circus....just the Bailey Brothers Circus. The welfare act.

It sucked...for the most part.

Lord only knows why they charge $25 for an adult ticket.

Good thing we had a free family pass, but still had to pay a $3 service charge on the adult admission.

Whatever.

It was nothing like the huge circuses you see on TV. It was a three-ring circus in a tent, but fairly small. The seats were nothing more than 1x6s that hurt our butts.

But, we went for the girls. They were excited. We let them have popcorn, cotton candy, those flavored ice things in a paper cone (gimme a break, it's early in the morning and I can't remember what they're called).

The best parts were the girl on the trapeze-style rings and the guy on the rotating drum where he walks on the inside and outside, forward & backward, and sometimes blindfolded.

The final act, a guy being shot out of a cannon, was canceled because of the weather. The day before when he was doing the act, something went wrong and he wasn't shot out. You can read about it here.

# # #

When school was still in session, I accidentally passed a school bus when the driver was slowing down and putting the stop sign arm out. It was on a busy street (Tudor Road for those familiar with Anchorage) and I was zoning out. I realized my mistake as I was passing.

Unfortunately, we received a citation in the mail for it. Actually, hubby did because the car is registered in his name. He decided to fight the ticket and had to go to court yesterday morning for it. He lost. The fine: $190.

There are major loopholes in this process. 1. What if the bus driver got a license plate number wrong? I mean, there are no photo/video means to get evidence. My license plate number is DPU281. What if he saw DBU281 instead? That poor unfortunate owner of DBU281 would be screwed! And 2. What if the bus driver has a beef with someone? He could just report their license and that poor unfortunate sould would be screwed!

Anyway...I'll be more careful driving around buses from now on.

# # #

M's birthday party is on Sunday and I'm worring no one will come. Methinks I better invite some more kids.

# # #

I made lasagna last night. It tasted okay, but looked weird. I won't be making that recipe again.

# # #

How do you get out of a guilty feeling for buying something for your guilty pleasure when you've got a mountain of expenses coming your way?

I just bought some scrapbooking and rubber stamping supplies at Michael's the other day and spent about $60. And now hubby just had to pay the $190 fine, we've got a birthday party to throw (another $100 at least), and rent ($950) due on the 1st.

I suppose I could let the rent payment float until the 5th when hubby gets paid, but the rent is supposed to be paid by the 3rd.

*sigh* I hate feeling like this.

sign my guestbook

< Just wanted to share | Where was I? >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved