March 9, 2001 | 11:35 am AST Alaska Time

P&C, Plato's quote, my job

Well, looks like they put my picture and counter back.

Plato once said, "Wise men speak because they have something to say; fools, because they have to say something." It's my favorite quote. Mainly because I work with a bunch of fools. Well, I should rephrase that. I used to work with one fool. I used to work with this guy who could not stop talking. He had to respond to everything! Didn't matter what anyone said, he had to respond. He usually tried to be funny, but he got really irritating after a while. I was so happy to finally go on maternity leave for 10 weeks.

See, I've worked at my job for nine years now. I work in the operations department of a local TV station. There are two shifts, the evening shift and the morning shift. Before the baby, I worked the evening shift. The evening shift has way more people, and most of them are under the age of 25... the maturity level is around 12. I'm 30. Hated working with that bunch, but the morning shift didn't sound too appealing either, having to be there at 4am. But while I was away on leave, I realized it would be better on my family if I worked the morning shift. Boy, am I glad I did! Something I should've done a long long time ago. Less people to deal with and they're years more mature. Actually civilized!

There's this one girl at work who a lot of people can't stand anymore. She's been there for a little more than a year. She's just 20. The problem is she's too ambitious. Tries to learn too much too fast and then think she knows everything about the position. I trained her first in my position. She learned it, hates it, but loves the graphics animation part of it. She's created so many animations, it's starting to look like Saturday morning cartoons! This is TV News... serious business, not Bugs Bunny. I did the job for almost nine years; she walks in, learns the job, and tries to boss me around. Bitch.

Okay, I'm done venting now.

sign my guestbook

< DL, DC, & PD | What the hell is emo? >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved