Thursday, June 27, 2002 | 8:10 a.m. Alaska Time

What's the big deal?

Oh, the stores we don't have in Alaska. I read other diarists talk about shopping at Target and eating Krispy Kreme Donuts. The closest thing we have to a Target in Anchorage is a store called Fred Meyer, recently bought out by Kroger. I've been to Target before, when I lived in Colorado. Until a few years ago, we didn't have Wal*Mart, KMart, Barnes & Noble, Home Depot, Eagle Hardware (Now a Lowe's Hardware), Office Max, and another national chain bookstore whose name I can't recall at the moment.

Forgive me for sounding ignorant, but what's the big deal about Krispy Kremes? I've never had one. I take it they're not like donuts you find in just any old bakery? Am I going to be disappointed when I finally do have one after hearing how good they are and find they may be just like any other donut? (That's how it was with "Pulp Fiction." I kept hearing what a good movie it was, but when I finally saw it, it was no big deal... just another violent movie.) I guess you could call me a Krispy Kreme Virgin.

If you're a parent, you know there's no escaping noisy, loud, annoying, electronic toys. I'm going to share a secret with you. Instead of taking the batteries out and hearing your kids complain the toy stopped working, pour candle wax into the speaker. It doesn't hurt the mechanics and mutes the noise. So instead of, "ZAP! BANG! CLANG! K'POW! RING!" it's "zap! bang! clang! k'pow! ring!"

sign my guestbook

< My survey | Reaching the boiling point >


You are visitor number

since 2/25/2001

Miss something?

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

Hair
Wednesday, Oct. 06, 2004

JFC!
Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2004

Fuck!
Monday, Sept. 13, 2004

Moving In
Thursday, Sept. 2, 2004


Show me where you're from:

� 2001-2004 by Peggy McCorm@ck
all rights reserved